Papertrey July 2011 Blog Hop

The theme for Papertrey Ink‘s July Blog Hop is this inspiration photo:

Photo Credit

Elements that I picked out of this photo were:  the colors of the wall (Aqua Mist) and the darker pillow in front (Ocean Tides), the metallic-looking medallion on the front of the quilt, the sage green seat cushion, the bamboo shades, the flowers on the very right-side pillow, and a touch of orange (Melon Berry).

I really wanted to re-create that metallic medallion as a background element, so I stamped my large Mehndi medallion all over some Ocean Tides cardstock in Versamark, then heat embossed each of them with silver embossing powder.  This turned out to be reflective in the light, as you can see from the photo below.

At other angles, it’s not so bright and reflective, but more matted and subdued, which you can see to a small extent on the right in the next photo.

For the touch of orange, I cut two Beautiful Blooms II #1 flowers from Melon Berry felt, hand stitching to it 3 mini pearl beads for the center.

I added a bit of the sage green by adding two Turning a New Leaf sprigs to the flower.  My interpretation of the bamboo shades is some brown twine wrapped around the bottom of the card, beneath the flower and the Fillable Frame.  I used a Communique Curves Sentiment to fill the frame and – though I now regret it - I added two of the mini medallions to the frame in a melon color.  Having it to do over again, I would omit those.
I tried multiple times to get photos of this card that would do it any justice.  It looks so lovely in real life (if I do say so myself).  I had in mind a wedding congrats card, but I’m sure it could work for some other congrats purpose as well.

Make sure you stop in at Nichole’s blog to check out all the other beautiful entries – there is always so much wonderful inspiration on these Papertrey Blog Hops.

Thanks for stopping by today, and Happy Hopping! ;-)
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White (PTI Paper Basics); Ocean Tides, Aqua Mist, Spring Moss (PTI Perfect Match Cardstock)
Inks:  Glacier Ice, Papaya Cream, Bronze (Colorbox); Versamark
Embellishments:  Silver Embossing Powder (Hampton Arts); Misc Brown Twine
This entry was posted in creativity, Papertrey Ink (PTI), PTI Blog Hops. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Papertrey July 2011 Blog Hop

  1. Kara says:

    very pretty…love the embossed medallions!

  2. So Pretty! Love your color combo and the medallions stamped on the background.

  3. Sue Lelli says:

    Ally, LOVE the silver embossed medallions with that POP of color! FAB flower!

  4. Elena says:

    I love that mehndi background!

  5. Jill says:

    Thud. Ally, the Mehndi Medallion is just STUNNING embossed in silver! It's so very beautiful and intricate looking, and forms a perfect background to your soft, elegant card! Well done!

  6. Marge says:

    Stunningly GORGEOUS — love your idea to emboss the medallions! WOW!!!

  7. Beautiful card, and the medallion in metallics is stunning!

  8. Kay says:

    Oooh, the embossed medallion is jaw dropping gorgeous- I'm going to have to try that- I love it!

  9. So BEAUTIFUL! love the embossed bg!

  10. Debra says:

    Love the blingy, silver embossed background and the felt flowe is so pretty!

  11. Judy says:

    Just beautiful..Have a great day…Judy

  12. Terri says:

    Great job! Love the embossed medallions!

  13. Just beautiful. I love the way you used the Mehndi medallion.TFSAng

  14. Nora says:

    This is lovely!! Love the medallion and your felt flowers. Fabulous card!

  15. A woman after my scrapbooking heart – felt flowers. hahaLove the design and use! Awesome job!

  16. This is absolutely GORGEOUS!

  17. Geri says:

    This is lovely!! That M. Medalion is so pretty embossed in the silver. Just ordered that today–wished all along that I had it for this Hop–didn't realize until today that it was a mini set–it will be mine soon!! ;). Pretty, pretty card!

  18. Marlena M. says:

    Gorgeous embossing and beautiful card! ;)

  19. Oh wow, that is so sophisticated and just plain beautiful! I love what you did with this challenge :)

  20. Lynn says:

    Oooo your silver embossed medallions are so striking and I love your layered felt flower! So pretty!

  21. Your embossing is stunning, beautiful card.

  22. Just beautiful card–your embossing is gorgeous, and I love the felt flower!Chris L.

  23. ~Laurie says:

    Gorgeous card! I love the embossing and the felt!

  24. Lori says:

    Oooh, the embossed medallions look beautiful!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

