Viva La Verve and CR84FN

A card created using Viva La Verve’s January Week 1 sketch (sketch by Amber Hight) and also CR84FN’s #45 color combo:

I just received some new Verve stamps in the mail this week, and I wanted to play.  So I broke out these lovely little tulips.

I’m still relatively new to paper piecing and fussy cutting, so if I had to do this card again, I would try to remember to color beneath the tulips that are popped up, so it’s not just stark white below them.  And the brown flower stems,… might look a little weird and not very realistic (unless we’re in the throes of Autumn, I suppose!).  But I guess the blue flower might be able to join them, since that might not be too realistic either.

But I actually like this card!  Which is saying a LOT, for the colors orange, yellow, and blue all mixed in together like this. ;-)

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I had fun making the card.

I had less fun making the following card, though - which is actually the first card I made with these challenge colors:

I have to laugh at it, though.  Because nothing on this card seemed to be working, just about from the start.  But I can’t stand feeling defeated by colors, so I kept working on it.  I was so determined to work in more orange that I just grabbed the bird stamps and started stamping birds.  Then PrincessA walks up to see it and says, “Orange birds?  There’s no such thing as orange birds!”  Then it hit me that I was stamping ORANGE BIRDS!!

I felt so silly!  But we Googled ‘orange birds’ just to be sure there was no such thing, and we were pleasantly surprised to find that there are actually orange birds in existence.  Which made me feel a teeny bit less silly.


I made this card to qualify for Papertrey Ink’s current Make It Monday challenge, to use a previous challenge that we missed.  I attempted to do some ink blending here.  But there is no way I am submitting this card!!  I feel silly enough just sharing it here on the blog!  So, I guess no free PTI for me this week – LOL!  (Does that remind you of the Soup Nazi from Seinfeld??  “No soup {PTI} for you!”  That line always makes me laugh.)

I don’t know.  I vacillate between thinking the card isn’t all that bad and wanting to throw it in the trash.
Anyway – Thanks for stopping by today. ;-)
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Floral Symphony, Big Wish (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Dark Chocolate and Rustic White Cardstocks (PTI); Polka-dot Designer Papers (Doodlebug)
Inks:  Chestnut, Glacier Ice (Colorbox); Brown (Stampabilities); Brown Copic Marker
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft - 3 colored with Copic Markers)
Tools:   Standard Circles Dies (Spellbinders Nestabilities); Rounded Corner Chomper (We R Memory Keepers)

This entry was posted in CR84FN, creativity, Verve Stamps, Viva La Verve. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Viva La Verve and CR84FN

  1. Ravengirl says:

    Both of your cards are great! You have made really difficult colors work well together. I don't know why you wouldn't link up your PTI card. I think your orange birds are a deep enough orange to pass for red.

  2. Archana says:

    I truly love your card. Simple yet colorful and bold.

  3. Whatever you are doing you need to keep doing it because this card is absolutely stunning! I love it, the colours, the way you used your dp's and the popped tulips! I can't see the 'stark white' underneath at all. Bravo Ally!

  4. Lisa says:

    Oh be still my heart…POLKA DOTS! Love this Ally it's clean and fresh and those tulips are so cute (even the blue one). Love the soup Nazi reference~LOL!! This card is NOT that bad. I actually like the pop the "orange" birds give it!!! Love it that you & PrincessA looked it up ;)

  5. Marie says:

    Beautiful card. Love the layout and the polka dots. Your orange birds are too too cute!

  6. Sue Lelli says:

    Ally, DON'T throw it away! I LOVE the orange birds! You should keep it and remember how much fun it was looking it up and realizing there REALLY ARE orange birds! LOVE the tulips on the first one, too! THX for playing with us at CR84FN!

  7. Hi Ally! Fancy meeting you here at CR84FN! I love both of these cards-so uniquely different! I really like the way you used the new Verve tulips (fantasy colors are some of my favorites) and the second card has such a serene feel about it. I love the bright birds perched in the wintery tree tops!

  8. I think your orange birds are fab!! It's a gorgeous tree and sky, with super sentiment. Love the polka papers in the first card. Thanks for playing along with CR84FN!!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

