My Christmas Project

So, I mentioned on Facebook that I was sneakily working on a Christmas project, and that it was brilliant.

Okay, maybe it wasn’t brilliant, necessarily.

But it was a fabulous idea, I thought.  Because I have a really difficult time concocting ideas for gifts for my Sweetheart.  So when I do actually find an idea that seems to be feasible and that he might like, trust me – it’s brilliant!

Now that he has it in his hot little hands, I figured I could share it with you.

And since I’ve been thinking of blogging again, I figured, why not start off with this?!

Now you really can see how brilliant I am, can’t you. šŸ˜‰

So.  It all started with the idea.  Coupons.  For things he likes.  Or, things I think he likes.  Or, really, things I think I can do for him that he might like.  Because, after all, I wanted it to be a surprise, and asking him outright for things he likes or would want would have been a clue for him!  And I couldn’t have that.  But I digress.

Now, I know coupons are no new thing.  But with my creative bones, I really thought I could pull this one off in grand style.  I will admit, though, that it was tough for me to come up with specific ideas of things to offer on these coupons.  After much consideration, I finally came up with some decent concepts.

Next, came the strategy for carrying out my plan.  Since I had spent the year making over 300 cards for various people (for Christmas, mostly), I decided to go with that momentum and just hand craft one more project.

I carefully selected the materials and laboriously fashioned a design on the computer (which was quite painstaking since I put it off until the week before Christmas and my PC decided to malfunction, which left me at the mercy of my laptop computer – which, is not a good combination, me and my laptop – BUT, being the brilliant one that I am, I made it work!), and then I lovingly put it all together.

And here is my sweet little brainchild:

A beautiful, thick, handcrafted coupon book – color coordinated to match his favorite BYU blue colors, to boot.

I made six unique coupons, for things like piano playing, a back tickle, a favorite home-cooked dinner, a game of ping-pong, etc – things I thought he would like and things I thought I could do.  I gave each coupon its own unique ticket number.  Then I changed all the numbers for the next month, and printed out 6 coupons for each month, for a grand total of 72 tickets.

Here it is on its side, so you can see the impressive thickness of it.

The coupons measure approximately 2.5″ x 5.5″, and the bundle altogether is about an inch thick.  And if you look closely, you can see that each coupon is inked around the edges with brown ink and then lightly scored about an inch from the left side, for easy tearing.

He liked it.  Very much.  And he may or may not have given me a big, juicy, Christmas-morning kiss for it.  But that’s none of your business, really, and I’m sure you don’t care about that. (hee hee)  He immediately began redeeming them.  And it has been fun for me, and hopefully for him, too.

Anyway.  All’s well that ends well, eh?  But I do love it when a project I envision and attempt turns out so well.

Thanks for stopping by! šŸ˜‰
-Magirk

2 thoughts on “My Christmas Project

  1. Wow, those coupons look seriously amazing and expensive!! Can't believe you handmade those!! I bet Dal loved that, very cute idea.SO SO GLAD you are back in the blogging world. I have missed you greatly.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

