Papertrey Ink Color Contest – Dawn McVey’s Colors

This delightful color combo by Dawn McVey:

Is sooo outside my comfort zone!  I absolutely adore what Dawn is able to do with colors – her creations are just divine, and the beauty she sends out into the universe, both creatively and in personal matters, is inspiring and contagious.

Ever the melancholy, I tend to identify with more subdued colors, although I secretly wish I could command colors the way Dawn does.  Anyway.  I eventually came up with this birthday card:

I edge inked a speckled cream cardstock base with bronze ink.  I traced a cardstock block to make a single-line black frame, then stamped a few sections of leaves using the Turning A New Leaf stamp set in an olive green ink.  I stamped a sentiment from Inside & Out Birthday in red ink.  I created 3 flower ensembles using the Beautiful Blooms I die collection in raspberry fizz, hawaiian shores, pure poppy, and dark chocolate – all embossed with the swiss dots folder by Cuttlebug.  I placed a few random rhinestones here and there.

One thing I am definitely picking up with my next order is some KRAFT CARDSTOCK.  I had to fudge it with every project using it, since I don’t have any actual kraft – I tried to pick colors that came close, but it’s just not the same, I don’t think.  I didn’t even try to fudge it with this card, I just didn’t use it, because I was afraid the not-really-very-kraft features of my not-so-kraft, comes-close cardstock would botch the whole thing.

Looking forward to my next PTI order! πŸ˜‰

One thought on “Papertrey Ink Color Contest – Dawn McVey’s Colors

  1. Honestly, this is my favorite out of all the posts you shared today. It's so bright and happy and bold – perfect for birthday wishes!! πŸ™‚

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

