Papertrey Ink Color Contest – Heather Nichols’ Colors

This gorgeous color combo by Heather Nichols:

Led me to create this very non-traditional wedding card:

I edge inked a kraft cardstock base in bronze ink, then edged the ripe avocado cardstock with a Martha Stewart border punch, finally layering that with an embossed/glittered/distressed designer paper block.  The sentiment panel is made with one of the Limitless Layers dies in spring rain cardstock adorned with mini rhinestones, and the Mat Stack 2 die in dark chocolate cardstock also stamped and heat embossed with a Mat Stack 2 coordinating stamp.

I tried some heat embossing on the sentiment panel, which was new to me.  It’s only the second time I’ve made a project with heat embossing, so I’m still learning how to get it just right so as not to smudge details.  But I can’t believe I put it off for so long – what the heck was I afraid of??!  Heat embossing is so fun!  Anyway.  It’s hard to tell from the photo, but I used glitter embossing powder, so it sparkles a little more in real life than the photo shows.

The color doesn’t quite match the PTI color.  I’m still relatively new to PTI, so I’m still working on building up my stash, and had to fudge a few colors and products for all these cards.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

