Papertrey Ink Color Contest – Maile Belles’ Colors

This color combination by Maile Belles:

Is also a combo that I struggle with, for some reason. I think it’s the yellow. It’s always a stretch for me to use yellow. And orange. But here’s my attempt (terrible photos and all!), which I don’t think turned out too badly:

I used a ‘close match’ kraft base and layered it with a white linen cardstock that I dry embossed using a Cuttlebug folder.

For the sentiment panel, I hand cut a mat out of lavender moon cardstock by tracing the Mat Stack 1 die upside down, then I die cut another Mat Stack 1 frame from white cardstock and then stamped and heat embossed it using Versamark and an embossing powder that I thought might come close to harvest gold (since I am lacking harvest gold cardstocks and such right now).  I stamped the Thinking of You sentiment using a stamp from the Through the Trees stamp set.

I used a Stampin’ Up! embossing die to cut all the butterflies from the various colored cardstocks, and used a mini silver brad to adorn the largest one at the top.

This is definitely not a color combo that I have a knack for, but I think I would try this combo again sometime, if I find myself in the mood sometime. 😉

2 thoughts on “Papertrey Ink Color Contest – Maile Belles’ Colors

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

