Make It Monday Challenge – Go-To Sentiment Card

So I didn’t win the color contest. 😦

But I sure had a great time making all those cards!!  🙂

And I did get to make another card today for another challenge over at Papertrey Ink.  This challenge is to make what is called a Go-To Sentiment Card.  Basically, it’s a collage of coordinating sentiments with one of them standing out from the others.  At least, that’s how I interpreted it.

So here is my card:

It didn’t quite turn out how I had envisioned it.  But, again, I had a great time making it.

I envisioned a one-layer card using a masking technique somehow, with a flower somewhere or some kind of embellishment….

But as I got stamping the sentiments on it, it just didn’t work out that way.  I don’t think it’s terrible, but I don’t think it’s my favorite card, either.  Oh well!  It was fun to exercise my PTI stamps, because I really haven’t got too much usage out of them since purchasing them – just busy with other things, I guess.

Anyway.  Pretty simple formula for this one.  I used a speckled cream cardstock base and traced an upside down Nestabilities label onto it with a thin-line black marker.  Then I masked off the label just on the inside after I cut the nestabilities die into a plain sheet of copy paper, to make sure none of the sentiments went outside my framed lines.

Then I just pulled all my birthday sentiments together and stamped them pretty randomly, although trying to keep some kind of form to it.  I stamped the main sentiment in pink ink and included some rhinestones beneath it to highlight it a little more.  I was really wishing I had some charcoal or smokey colored ink for this one so I wouldn’t have to use black ink, since I didn’t really want all those other sentiments to be so black and stand out so much.  Oh well – at least I know what I need for my stash now, right?!

I lined the inside of the frame with ice stickles, which would have been fine, if I hadn’t accidentally placed an object on top of the card while it was still drying which caused it all to smudge a bit, which caused me to get very frustrated and have to redo my work on the stickles….

Anyway.  I think this is only my second attempt at a one-layer card.  It was an interesting experience!

Thanks for stopping in. 😉

One thought on “Make It Monday Challenge – Go-To Sentiment Card

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

