Make It Monday #5 – Distressing Edges

I was afraid I would not be able to play along this week – it has been a crazy week!

Hubby is out of town for our niece’s wedding today, and we have had another niece staying here since Thursday for a sleepover play date.  So my Sweetheart has been gone, but I gained an extra child.  I could have used the extra adult here this week – ha ha!

Earlier this week, a sister-in-law of mine asked me to provide her with 15 cards.  So I’ve mostly been working on that project all week, in between all the homeschooling and other activities, projects, and events.  Then an Etsy order came in for 5 cards yesterday, so I spent time compiling and sending that on its way.

I’ve been busy with cards for other people, so I was grateful to find a bit of time to squeeze in a project for myself and the Make It Monday challenge this week, the challenge being to distress some edges on our card.

In the video, Lisa Johnson used scissors to distress her card.  But I just received my Distrezz It All in the mail a few weeks ago, and I have been impatiently waiting to find time to play around with it ever since.  So this was the perfect opportunity, I thought.  I don’t mind distressing with scissors, but it seems to result in a more subtle effect.  I guess I like my distressing to be a bit more on the obvious side.  Although I’m not really sure I achieved that here!

And though it’s not so glaring in person, these photos make that bookprint flower at the bottom look awful lopsided.

(Ahem.)

My card:

You may want to click on the photos to see the details a bit better.  The brown is pretty dark here.
I will have to return and itemize the supplies I used, but I have a few other projects to accomplish tonight, and with Daylight Savings Time looming large, I am feeling the pinch!

Most all the supplies are PTI, except the book print paper, the inks, the liquid pearls and mini brad at the center of the flower, and the Kaisercraft pearls at the top right.  I used a Sharpie marker to color some white pearls to more closely match the ocean tides felt sunburst under the flower.

I’ll be back for more details soon.  Thanks for stopping by! 😉

One thought on “Make It Monday #5 – Distressing Edges

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

