Make It Monday #6 – Impression Plate Tricks – Card #1

Ack!  Talk about coming in just under the buzzer…!

I have been trying all week to find time to participate in the new Make It Monday Challenge for Papertrey, and finally found a few hours after church today.  But that still doesn’t save much time for taking photos of the cards and then getting them posted on the blog. :-S  It has been a crazy busy week.

And Hubby even threatened to derail my last-minute efforts to get a card made and posted this week, by spraining his ankle while playing basketball yesterday, which – surprisingly – made for double the work load for me, and on the weekend, too!

Anyhoo.  The challenge this week is Impression Plate Tricks.  Owning only 2 plates myself, and having barely used them so far (shhh, don’t tell!), I confess – I really don’t have any tricks!  So this was a learning experience for me.  Though neither of the cards I made turned out how my mind had envisioned them (again), I’m satisfied with the experience of trial and error this challenge provided me.  I am happy to learn more about the supplies I’ve purchased and happy to give them some exercise, and to learn how to use them.  What good are they, after all, if I can’t use them?!

First up.  A little Best Wishes card:

I used Stamper’s Select White cardstock as the base, edge inked a little in black, and stamped with a tag from the 2010 Love Tags stamp set, with a bit of icicle Stickles on the hearts.  Then a layer of Spring Moss cardstock, with a circle die cut from it with the 1-3/4″ Limitless Layers die set.  I also used the B circle from that set to cut an opening in the Sweet Blush layer.  A little banner, which I cut using the small Double-Ended Banner die, has a sentiment from the Mat Stack 2 stamp collection stamped in black on it, and is also edge inked a bit in black.

You have to look closely to see the impression plate effects.  I have been seeing all these double-embossing cards for this week’s challenge, and I really wanted to try it.  It was much trial and error for me, so while this card is certainly not perfect, I am pleased with the results, and I hope to get better at it as I use it more.  Here is a close-up look at the double embossing effect:

I used the Tin Types plate, and the Mat Stack 4 die in the middle, to achieve the partial impression.  Please don’t ask me to describe how I did it – I roughly tried to follow the rough instructions on another blog, but my computer whacked out before I could copy the URL for it, and I haven’t had time to find it again!  And I really don’t remember how I made the sandwich, even just 3 hours later.
There is just the tiniest hint of impressing within the Mat Stack 4 portion, because I don’t think I quite got the hang of how to make the sandwich.  But I’ll keep working til I get it right!
Thanks for taking a look. 😉
Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

