PTI March Blog Hop – Make It Monday #7 – Totally Hues #4

How’s that for a title, eh?!

Yep, I am gettin’ busy over here.  Trying to kill 3 birds with one stone, so to speak.

In between making 40 thank you cards for a friend, 15 wedding cards for a sister-in-law, and a bunch of graduation announcements for a niece.  What’s one more card on top of all that, right!?! ;-D  My brain is definitely getting a workout this week.

I really wanted to play along with these three challenges, but had a difficult time figuring what to do for them individually.  And when I can’t figure it out, I usually just let it pass me by.  But I decided not to drop out this time!  It was much easier to concoct something by using all three at once.

I sat down to make a card for the PTI Blog Hop, and came up blank – except I knew I wanted to use one of the little crochet flowers that I’ve been making over the last few months out of embroidery floss.  (I now have about a hundred of them, and haven’t even had a chance to make one single card with them yet!)  Not a very original or inventive idea for floss, I know.  But it is floss, nevertheless.
I couldn’t get my mind around what colors to use, so I popped over to Heather’s blog and took the colors from her Totally Hues Challenge #4.  These colors are so pretty together!

I was thinking I wouldn’t participate in the Make It Monday Challenge #7 to use copic markers on colored cardstock, because I don’t own any copic markers.  But when this card began to come together, I figured I would just use my new Tombow markers and add a little cavemanwoman details to the green leaves.  It’s very rudimentary, I know.  I don’t own copics, don’t know how to use them, and wouldn’t know how to use them if I had them.  So I’m hoping this will do for now.

Enough babbling??  Here’s my card:

I used Stamper’s Select white cardstock for the base, then layered it with Plum Pudding and Lemon Tart cardstocks, all with rounded top corners.ο»Ώ  The Lemon Tart cardstock is impressed with the Tin Types impression plate, which you can see a smidgen better in this last photo.  I used the Sending You frame die to cut some white cardstock, then stamped that in pink with the frame from the Sending You stamp set.  I also used the ‘happy hello’ sentiment from that stamp set, stamping it in black.
I was frantically looking for a coordinating ribbon, when I just happened to notice that the one and only bobbin of ribbon from PTI that I have is actually this Raspberry Fizz Saddle Stitch ribbon.  How freakishly convenient!!  I did a quick happy dance around the room, then tied some around the bottom of the card.
I cut the leaves using one of the dies from the Turning A New Leaf die collection, then used my markers to very roughly create the leaf interiors.  It’s okay if you feel like laughing – I did too. πŸ˜‰
I used a plum button that I had in my stash, stitching it through the flower and onto the cardstock with white embroidery floss.  I selected one of my handmade crochet flowers that I thought was in a color close to Raspberry Fizz.
Thanks so much for looking! πŸ˜‰
22 thoughts on “PTI March Blog Hop – Make It Monday #7 – Totally Hues #4

  1. Lovely color combination and pretty flower! Love this set, can't wait 'till it arrives to me, would love to play with it as well. Your card is truly inspirational!

  2. A very sweet card. I love the simplicity of it, which I know isn't simple to do! And I love how you combined 3 challenges in one project! Way to multitask!

  3. Probably the best color combination I have seen so far on this blog hop. So bright and Spring-like. I love that little flower and TANL leaves. You made great use of your release goodies.

  4. My comment disappeared, eek…what I was saying was that you used this color combo to perfection, and your layout is awesome. I have Sending You and have not had a chance to use it yet…your card is making me want to run off and create!

  5. This is a lovely card, Ally. You made the colors shine. And the curved top corners gave a graceful flow to the card. That embroidered flower is great; wish I could make them.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

