Make It Monday #9 – Heat Embossing

So with 40 baby thank you cards and 50 graduation announcements to make, along with everything else in life going on, it has (again) taken me all week to make a card for the Make It Monday Challenge this week!

Even today, the schedule threatened to get away from me and leave me with no time to create.  And it was a little tough to discipline myself, after having made so many cards already the last few weeks and suffering from a little bit of creative burnout.  But I squeezed it in, like any good crafter would. 😉
So the challenge this week is heat embossing.  I’m still not the best at this technique.  I was happy that the background I used from the Twinkle stamp set was a lot easier to align and work with than the Tin Types seems to be for me.  I think I should have stamped and embossed in sections, though, because even up close it is difficult to tell that there is embossing, and I think that is because I stamped the whole panel first then added powder and embossed after that.  But it is embossed, I promise!  Even if I can’t shoot a decent photo to illustrate it.
Here is my card:

I used the Edgers #2 die along the bottom of a Rustic White cardstock base.  I used a colander from my kitchen cupboard to trace an oval edge and hand-cut a template to match the curve of the Edgers die, then I traced and cut out a mat from Ripe Avocado cardstock.  I then stamped a background from the Background Basics: Twinkle stamp set in Versamark and then heat embossed using clear powder.  I lightly distressed the edges of the block, and then lined the center of that block with white satin ribbon and added a bow below the focal panel.

The focal panel consists of a white Mat Stack 2 die cut which is stamped in brown with a Mat Stack 2 frame and heat embossed as well; then layered with a Sweet Blush die-cut from the Limitless Layers die collection and embellished with mini rhinestones; followed by a circle cut from Spring Moss cardstock with edges inked in brown and a sentiment from Tag It’s #2 that was stamped in brown ink and also heat embossed; and finally, a white glittery butterfly cut from fun foam that I intended to use for a former challenge but never got around to using.

  

I’m not entirely convinced that this card speaks ‘Mother’s Day,’ but I thought, what the heck – I’ll make it a Mother’s Day card!

I enjoyed creating it and trying some new products, and using some techniques that I really need to practice.  And it was nice to get back to creating an individual card from scratch, rather than the mass production products I’ve had lately.

Thanks for stopping by. 😉

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

