Make It Monday #10 – Card #2

Actually, it is three cards, and not one.

I was enjoying the masking technique so much, that I gave the Make It Monday #10 another go.

I originally had this idea in my head, of masking off flowers and then stamping them with polka dots, as an entire background.  But as I started to work with it and realized how tough it was (or how I actually didn’t know how to work it out!), it gradually turned into something else after all my mistakes and bloopers and mishaps.

I started off masking for white flowers with pink polka dots on black cardstock, but that didn’t turn out well at all.  So I scrapped that idea and moved on to masking for pink flowers with black polka dots on white cardstock.  I wish I had had the presence of mind to photograph that single sheet as a background!  But I didn’t.

As it turned out, I ended up slicing it into 3 pieces to make 3 cards in a (rather boisterous!) set.

Now, I will be the first to admit how ‘bright’ this color scheme is.  I wasn’t really expecting that – it just kinda morphed into what you see.  Mostly because, I knew I wanted to put a ribbon on the card, and I wanted the flowers to have pink on them somehow, either as a flower or the polka dots, etc.  And since the only 2 PTI ribbons I own, so far, are Hibiscus Burst and Raspberry Fizz, I went with what I thought would be the more ‘quiet’ one of the 2.  LOL!

Anyway.  I wanted to just use a whole quarter-sheet size of cardstock with the masked-flowers background on one card.  But it just didn’t seem right that way.  So I ended up cutting it into thirds, and three cards instead of one were the result, in a variation on a theme.

Hopefully you can tell from the photos, that the masked part of the project is the section on the left of each card – pink flowers with black polka dots on white cardstock.  I used Stamper’s Select White cardstock with some other brand of pink and black ink for the flowers.

Inked some edges in black, rounded some corners, added some pinstripes on the right sides with my Scor Buddy, and then knotted the Hibiscus Burst saddle stitch ribbon around each card.

The right-side panel is different on each card – one in Hibiscus Burst, one in True Black, and one in SS White, each with the pinstripes.  I also alternated colors for the Mat Stack 3 die cuts, heat embossing each one using a coordinating stamp from the Mat Stack 3 Stamp set.

I layered onto that the Double-Ended Banner die cuts, with sentiment stamps from a few different collections.  Happy Birthday, from the Inside and Out: Birthday set.  Just Thinking of You, from the Mat Stack 2 set.  Thank You So Very Much from the Mat Stack 1 set.

Finally, I used the Beautiful Blooms II #3 die set to cut coordinating flowers, edge inking them in black, and layering them onto the #3 Mat.  Then I added a few rhinestones here and there.  For the Happy Birthday card above, I simply colored clear rhinestones with a pink Sharpie marker, which matched a little better than the other pre-colored pink rhinestones I had in stock.

Though I am obviously just a beginner at masking, I enjoyed these little exercises, and I hope I’ll be able to use masking more and master the technique better.

Thanks for stopping by for this burst of color! 😉

One thought on “Make It Monday #10 – Card #2

  1. Love your card set ~ very different yet similarities. Very clever techniques showcasing a burst of color. Love the brightness ~ oh so cheery!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

