April Papertrey Blog Hop

I feel like I am so late posting for the Papertrey Blog Hop – but it has been a busy day, and even though I have been working on my card all morning and afternoon in between all my other responsibilities, I have only barely had time to finish my card and get it posted!  And just in time, because I actually have to leave in a few hours and be gone this evening.

But, at long last, here is my card:

The theme for the Hop is something masculine, for the boys/men.  I went with a Father’s Day card, using Rustic White cardstock as my base, layered with Kraft cardstock that was impressed with the Book Print Impression Plate, edge inked in bronze ink, and distressed a bit.

The sentiments are from the Men of Life stamp set, but I also used a border image from that set to heat emboss the largest star – which was cut from Spring Rain cardstock – using Versamark ink and clear embossing powder.  The words “Happy Father’s Day” were stamped on Rustic White cardstock which was cut with the Double-Ended Banner die.

The medium star at the top was cut from Enchanted Evening cardstock and heat embossed using Versamark and white powder with a stamp from the Background Basics: Text Style stamp set.  The smallest star was cut from Blueberry Sky cardstock, though with white glitter on it, I think it looks more like Spring Rain.  I added a bit of frayed burlap on the left side, tacked down with some Terrifically Tacky Tape.

The stars were cut using the Fiskars hand punches, one each of the small, medium, and large.  The white banner and all three stars were raised for 3D effect using dimensional adhesive.

Thanks for stopping by today!  And happy Blog Hopping. 😉
-Ally

16 thoughts on “April Papertrey Blog Hop

  1. This card is so well thought out. I love all the different stamp sets and elements on the card, especially that frayed burlap. It made the card for me, such a perfect touch for a masculine card. Loved it.

  2. Wonderful textures! I love the combination of the impression plate, the burlap, and the distressed edges. And of course, stars are always great on guy cards!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

