Make It Monday #12 – Project #1

For Make It Monday this week, the challenge is to create a project using line frames drawn by hand.  I plan to also make a card for this challenge, but since my Mom is still waiting patiently for 10 bookmarks, I thought I’d try the technique on a bookmark for her first:

 I used Chocolate Brown cardstock as the base, cut with the Tag Sale #2 die.  I layered a block of Ripe Avocado cardstock onto the brown cardstock, followed by a block of Rustic White cardstock.

**Edited to add:  I was asked how I made a bookmark with the Tag Sale #2 die, since the die is for a much shorter cut.  I cut my cardstock to a width in between 2-3/16″ and 2-1/4″ and about 7″ long.  I lined up the sides of the cardstock so they were centered and within the sides of the die, but so that the top of the cardstock was covering the die so it would be cut with the arched top design, and then held it in place with a bit of blue painter’s tape at the bottom of the die.  I rolled the sandwich with the top of the die head first through my Cuttlebug, being careful to only roll through a bit, maybe 2″ or so, then reverse rolling to bring it back out towards me, rather than rolling all the way through forward.  This stops the cutting just after the arched top and allows the remaining length of the cardstock below to stay intact.**

On the white cardstock, I used a nearly-depleted bronze inkpad to stamp a few measures of music from the Background Basics: Sheet Music stamp set, so that it would resemble a watermark or faded background.  That was followed by stamping a few leaf sections from the Turning a New Leaf stamp set at the bottom and top, with a Color Box moss green ink.  I quickly covered it with clear, glittered embossing powder and heat embossed it.

Then I lined up my ruler and used a dark brown Tombow Dual Brush Pen to create the line frame, breaking for the leaves along the way.  Nichole had such a wonderful tutorial on how to correctly execute this line frame, but I’m afraid I was in such a hurry that I just eye-balled it.  :-S

I cut a hole reinforcer from Ripe Avocado cardstock using the Tag Sale #1 die and adhered it to the top of the bookmark using my glue pen.  I was stumped as to what kind of ribbon or bead treatment to add to the top, but Rustic Cream Button Twine came to my mind, so I gave it a try.  I sent several strands through the hole, then tied them off with another small section of twine.  It’s not my typical bookmark that I do, but I kinda like it.

Thanks for stopping by today! 😉
-Ally

11 thoughts on “Make It Monday #12 – Project #1

  1. Hi Ally, thank you so much for your comment on my blog. I really, really love your bookmark creation! What a great ides! I need more practice with the corners of the frames, so I might just try a bookmark myself. I love the colors you used – very earthy!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

