Make It Monday #12 – Project #2

Another project for Papertrey’s Make It Monday #12 challenge – hand-drawn line frames.  I have no idea where the idea for the card came from, or where it was going along the way.  I just sort of made it.  It’s not my favorite, but I don’t think it’s terrible, either.  It was fun to make, anyway.

I used the colors from Heather Pulvirenti’s Totally Hues #6 challenge, where I will also be submitting this card.

I began with a Rustic White cardstock base.  Man, I sure use Rustic White a lot!  I should probably branch out soon, eh?

I used a block of scrap cardstock to very simply outline the first frame line which was done in a blue color I thought was close to Aqua Mist.  Then I cut that cardstock block down 1/4″ on two sides after each use to make the middle frame in black and then the small frame in a pink shade somewhat close to Raspberry Fizz.  I used Tombow Dual Brush Pens for all my lines, since those are the only craft markers I have on hand.  I had a tough time with a couple of the corners, but all in all, I think I did a fair job.

I cut three flowers – from Simply Chartreuse, Raspberry Fizz, and Aqua Mist cardstocks – using the Beautiful Blooms II #1 middle-sized die, then stamped each flower with a coordinating stamp from the Beautiful Blooms II stamp set in Versamark ink, heat embossing it with clear powder afterward.

The flowers are raised on dimensional adhesive for 3D effect.  The yellow circle centers were cut from a glittered cardstock I had on hand that seemed close to the Lemon Tart color, using a Cuttlebug circle die.  The centers are also raised on dimensional adhesive.

I stamped the Hello Friend sentiment from the Think Big #3 stamp set on the bottom right corner using a Color Box pink ink, also heat embossing it with clear powder.  I added three Kaisercraft rhinestones, in coordinating blue and green, that I had on hand, and then one that I colored with a yellow Sharpie which, as it turns out, doesn’t appear even remotely similar to the Lemon Tart shade – LOL!  Oh well.

A fairly clean and simple card, with not too many layers or add-ons.  Making this card was a fun learning experience for me.

Thanks for stopping by today! 😉
-Ally

5 thoughts on “Make It Monday #12 – Project #2

  1. Hi Ally! Found your blog the other day and became a follower as I really like your cards 🙂 This is another great card, so pretty. Love the colours and the layout, such a happy little card! 🙂

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

