Make It Monday #12 – Project #3 and Play Date Cafe 79

I’m not sure why I felt compelled to play along with the Play Date Cafe’s Challenge #79 this week.  The color combo was an interesting thing to work with, for me.  Maybe I just wanted to branch out a bit.

I first tried using them to make another bookmark for my mom, but the ideas I had didn’t translate into these colors, and it took me nearly 3 hours to come up with one bookmark!  I’ll show you that later.  (I will not, however, be showing the mess of scraps that didn’t make the cut!  I’m grateful for the practice, at least.)

But since I didn’t get to sleep until 2am last night, and my daughter who is ill kept waking up crying and needing attention every hour after that, my brain seemed to be very much awake, and trying to drum up ideas for this color combo.

While I was assembling this card, I figured I would just add a hand-drawn line frame and give myself another entry for the Make It Monday challenge, because I would LOVE to win a free stamp set!! 

Although, truth be told, if I were to win, I would hope that my bookmark would be the winning entry, rather than this… um, interesting(?)… card!  It’s not a typical Mother’s Day card.  But fortunately, I have a mother who might actually appreciate this card – haha! ;-D

I (as usual) used Rustic White PTI cardstock for the base, then layered it with a misc charcoal grey cardstock that was impressed with the PTI Polka Dot Basics II impression plate.  I took the liberty of using  a darker shade of grey than the challenge photo illustrates, as well as adding in some white for my sanity’s sake.  I tried and tried to use a lighter grey, but it just wasn’t working for me.  I think I should just admit that this is not my favorite color combo and move on with life!

For the focal panel, I used the stems and flower stamps from PTI’s Women of Life stamp set on Rustic White PTI cardstock, stamping the stems with an A La Mode Lime Green pigment ink (I obviously need a more bold ink pad that shows up better!), and the flowers with an A La Mode Red pigment ink.  Then I stamped flower centers using a small Cat’s Eye pewter ink pad.  The sentiment is also stamped in the pewter ink.  Again, I used a Tombow Dual Brush Pen to draw the outline frame in red.

I attached a small lime green border at the bottom of the panel, using an EK Success border punch.  I used the Tiny Tags die and Tiny Tags stamp set to created the little ‘love you’ tag at the bottom – stamping the decorative frame in pewter, and the sentiment in red – then stringing it with red embroidery floss wrapped around the card and tied in a bow.

And here is a peek at the bookmark that grew out of these colors after 3 hours of realizing how very little I know about putting colors together and making them work! 😉

Misc grey cardstock base, cut with the Mat Stack 3 die (just the top portion) and Stub Corner Chomped at the bottom.

Misc red cardstock cut to match the base shape, and impressed with PTI’s Book Print Impression Plate.

A white circle punch layered with a lime green circle punch, which was stamped with an All Booked Up stamp and heat embossed with black powder.

I affectionately refer to this as my ‘weird little bookmark.’  But again, I think my Mom might be the type to appreciate it.

Thanks for stopping by today! 😉
-Ally

8 thoughts on “Make It Monday #12 – Project #3 and Play Date Cafe 79

  1. A lovely card with very pretty flowers! Love the gray background! Sweet bookmarks too! Great card and bookmarks for your Mom! Take care!:-)

  2. Super sweet card, Ally…love those darling flower images and the fabulous CAS design! So glad to have you playing along with us at the Play Date Cafe!

  3. Neat creations, and I'm glad you took the time to play with us! On your flower card, at first I thought you had punched out the flower centers, so that the gray behind peeked through. I see that you layered centers on to them…beautiful touch! THanks for sharing it with us at THe Cafe.

  4. You may not have known why you wanted to play but I for one am glad you did, your card is really pretty! Love how you've done the flowers. Thanks for playing along with us at Play Date Cafe!

  5. I am loving your pretty flowers in red and lime! They really work with those colors. Way to expand your horizons! 😉 Thanks so much for playing along at The Play Date Cafe.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

