Make It Monday #13 – Project 1

Make It Monday #13 is another version of Impression Plate Tricks, using a die with an impression plate.
As I reflect, I think that when I participated with the first Make It Monday for impression plate tricks, I actually used this technique, and probably didn’t fulfill the challenge then as it was meant to be issued.  So I guess I’ve already done this version!  But I enjoyed it the first time, so I’m playing along again.
This time I think I used the right technique.  I actually made two cards, because I often can’t stand to see little scraps of paper sitting around after I’ve cut them, so I generally make another card of the same design, or I try to play with it to change it into something else, just so I can use those scraps.
Anyway.  Here is my first card:

I used (no surprise, right?) Rustic White cardstock as my base.  One day I’ll tell you the story behind this obsession with Rustic White cardstock. 😉

At the bottom right, I used Colorbox Wild Hare ink on one of the stamps from the Fancy Flourishes stamp set, then stamped the words Hugs and Kisses using Colorbox Black ink on a stamp from the Heart Prints stamp set.  I only recently picked up the Heart Prints set, but I’ve been wanting it for a LONG time – so I immediately broke into it for these cards.  I also added a clear Kaisercraft rhinestone that I colored with a Sharpie marker to coordinate somewhat with the other cardstock colors.

For the color panel on the left, I first stacked the 3 Heart Prints dies (cutting edge away from the impression plate, of course!) onto the Polka Dot Basics Impression Plate, sticking them in place with some blue painter’s tape.  I LOVE my painter’s tape!  I use it for EVERYTHING, no kidding, and not just for crafts.  That held the dies in place so that I could, with an ever-so-carefree attitude, simply place the Berry Sorbet cardstock block on top of the stack and send it through my Cuttlebug.  Worked like a charm.  I then used a coordinating stamp from the Heart Prints stamp set to stamp the 3 images within the heart impressions using Colorbox Black ink.

I then layered that block onto True Black cardstock with the edges peeking out slightly for a mat finish.  I cut a small sliver of Aqua Mist cardstock using the short Edgers #1 die, and attached it to the back of the other blocks, using dimensional adhesive to raise the heart panel for 3D effect.  Easy peasy.

So easy, in fact, that I was able to quickly whip another card, using a different sentiment this time, but also from the Heart Prints stamp set.

I did have some problems with minor smudging, because I used black ink and was in a bit of a hurry between school lessons today and other activities of life, and I just wasn’t obsessively careful.  So I will need to make these again, being more careful next time, if I were to ever send them out to someone.  Because that’s just the way I am!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

4 thoughts on “Make It Monday #13 – Project 1

  1. Fabulous design, Ally…the colors are gorgeous together and you've done a marvelous job with the technique! Those hearts are so super cute and what a great effect the embossing has on your card!

  2. Gorgeous card! Love how you used the hearts in your wonderful design. Really great colors and fabulous job with the challenge!

  3. What an incredible card! Love how you used the heart dies! These challenges are so fun! I love seeing all the different ways a single challenge can be interpreted by everyone that plays along! Gorgeous card!!!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

