Make It Monday #13 – Project 2

Another entry for the Make It Monday #13 challenge.  I am also submitting this in the Play Date Cafe Challenge #80.

If you know me, you know that I don’t do red and orange.  I just DO NOT DO those colors.  They are not my favorite, by far, and I actually think that these colors (plus yellow) repel me – LOL!  But I have had a lot of fun with the color challenges that I’ve participated in so far, because they encourage me to step out of my comfort zones and try new things.  And in some cases, such as this one, I am surprised by how much I like the colors once I get them together in a design that I like.  It’s a different story when I end up with a botched project!  šŸ˜‰  But when it works out, it is a fun, fun process, and I am happy to be stretching my creativity.

Anyway.  Here is the card I came up with:

I used PTI’s Stamper’s Select white cardstock for the base.  I layered it with PTI Pure Poppy cardstock which was cut on the bottom edge with the Martha Stewart Layered Arches border punch.

To fulfill the Make It Monday challenge, I cut a block of Stamper’s Select white cardstock and sent it through my Cuttlebug on top of the Book Print Impression Plate with the Sending You arched-frame die (cutting side away from the impression plate) to create the debossed pattern and inset frame.

I eventually layered that block onto Orange Zest cardstock.  But first, I used stamps from the Sending You stamp set to create the flower and leaf images using Cranberry, Orange, and Moss Green Colorbox pigment inks, and the sentiment using Black Colorbox ink.  I first tried a panel stamping the Sending You frame in black, but I do not have that steady of a hand nor the eyeballing coordination yet.  So I just went with the open space look of it here.

In the original PDCC inspiration photo, there was just a hint of light pink in the flowers, though it wasn’t listed as one of the colors.  I felt compelled to add a bit of pink, so I knotted a bit of Offray ribbon near the bottom.  The white and orange-matted focal panel block is raised on dimensional adhesive for 3D effect.

I showed this card to my Husband when I finished.  He just raised his eyebrows and gave me a curious look.  I said, “I know!”  He agreed that it was not my typical color combination of choice, but was very impressed with how I used the colors and complimented me on my creation.

Personally, I am very pleased with this card.  It’s nice to be successful using something out of my comfort zone – it means I’m learning and improving my skills, and I like that! šŸ˜‰

Thanks so much for stopping by today!
-Ally

8 thoughts on “Make It Monday #13 – Project 2

  1. Allyson, I think you've done a fabby job with this card – and you wouldn't know you were uncomfortable with the colours! Great work šŸ™‚ Thanks for playing along at the Play Date Cafe!

  2. So glad you decided to play with these colors, Ally, because this is absolutely beautiful! So need to try that technique! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

