Make It Monday #14 and Mojo Monday 190

This is my one and only card for the Make It Monday #14 challenge this week.  I just don’t have that many PTI stamp sets to work with yet, and I wasn’t feeling ambitious enough to analyze each and every set to answer the challenge in a creative way.  So this is it for me.

But I was feeling ambitious enough to join my first sketch challenge – for Mojo Monday 190(I hope I obeyed all the rules properly!)

I had a lot of fun using a sketch, since it took a lot of the guess work out of the process of coming up with a design layout.  The colors are not part of a current formal challenge (at least, not intentionally), but they are a combo that I’ve wanted to try out for a while.  Here is what I created:

I used PTI’s Stamper’s Select White cardstock as the base.  I used a Nestabilities Lacey Squares die to cut from Raspberry Fizz cardstock for matting the flowers panel.

The flower panel is also from Stamper’s Select White cardstock.  I used stamps from the Women of Life stamp set.  The flower stems stamp originally has 5 stems, but I used Heather Nichols’ trick of using tape to mask the two stems I didn’t want included, then inked the remaining stems, removed the tape, and then stamped the image onto the cardstock.  I added a curly leaf to the right stem.  I used the individual stamps, rather than masking off the 5-flower image, to stamp the flowers in a Colorbox pigment ink that was close to Raspberry Fizz.  I stamped the centers in a yellow close to Lemon Tart, then heat embossed them with a clear glittered powder.

The sentiment panel is made from PTI’s Lemon Tart cardstock, stamped in the same pink ink using the grid stamp from the Guide Lines stamp set.  I also used a little masking for the sentiment.  I used the Thanks So Much stamp from the Think Big Favorites #1 stamp set, masking off the words So Much in order to only stamp the word Thanks in brown ink.

I lined the Lemon Tart cardstock with some chocolate brown Offray 7/8″ grosgrain ribbon, also stringing it with pink and yellow baker’s twine from The Twinery, tying off the brown ribbon with the pink twine.  I’m afraid all my yellows may clash just a tad. :-S  As a final touch, I added 3 pink Kaisercraft rhinestones to the card.

I love this color combo, and I had a great time making this card (even though my card really doesn’t tell a story as Erin Lincoln’s tutorial suggested we do). 😉  And in spite of all my ‘first attempts’ and mishaps along the way, it was good practice for me on another new technique.  It’s a fun process that I love!

Thanks for stopping by today!
-Ally

5 thoughts on “Make It Monday #14 and Mojo Monday 190

  1. Hi Ally,Really like the flowers on your card! Those stems and leaves are really pretty! Fabulous selective stamping on them, looks great! Pretty colors, a truly happy card!!Hugs, Wendy

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

