Mojo Monday & Totally Hues

I was so excited to see a new Totally Hues Challenge on Heather Pulvirenti’s blog, and I could not wait to try it.  So I made everyone work around my schedule today, just so I could create one card!  ;-D

Heather combines colors in the most fabulous way, ways I would never choose if left to myself, but which I also end up really, really liking.  It definitely is a challenge for me to try new color combos – I tend to stick with the combos I like and am familiar with (and which some might say are… boring).  I love the way these colors came together.

I am also submitting this as a very, very late entry in this week’s Mojo Monday #191.  I rotated the sketch 90 degrees to the right, because it was easier for me to work with.  I also tend to over-analyze things and think too long about them – unless they are super easy and overly obvious.  Haha!

So here is what I created:

It took me a few hours to finish it.  It begins with a PTI Rustic White cardstock base.  A little section of PTI’s Spring Moss cardstock lines the bottom, cut with the Martha Stewart Gothic Arches edge punch and embellished with 3 mini rhinestones.  The ribbon is some Hug Snug seam binding that I hand dyed a few months ago when I was enthralled with everyone’s hand-dyed seam binding and wanted to try it out for myself.  I tied a very rough triple bow.

The top layer was made using PTI’s Berry Sorbet cardstock, stamped in Versamark ink  with the solid diamonds from the A Little Argyle stamp set, and then the coordinating lines in Fresh Snow ink.  The next layer is PTI’s Lemon Tart cardstock, die cut and embossed using a Nestabilities Labels Four Large die, stamped in Versamark ink with a staff from the Background Basics: Sheet Music stamp set, then heat embossed.  You can barely see it.  Here’s a closeup.

For some reason, I didn’t feel like going to the trouble of adding a sentiment, so I guess it’s an ‘all-purpose’ card, of sorts. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The flower ensemble was a test run of a new stamp set I purchased a long time ago, and it turned into a scrap piece that I never intended to use.  (I don’t even remember which set – I would go looking for it to see what brand/set name it is from, but my stamps are currently under construction and being organized, and it’s really chaotic right now.)

Anyway.  As I’ve been re-organizing all my supplies and such, I ran across this little scrap piece and decided it looked decent enough that I could use it somehow on a card sometime.  And when I saw Heather’s colors, I decided that it would match the colors well enough.  So I trimmed it up a bit and used it!  I love being able to use scraps!  Because I hang on to them for… like… forever, thinking I’ll use them, and then I just get big piles of scraps that I rarely use all over my craft spaces.

Again.  A color combo that is typically way out of my comfort zone, but now that I’ve used it, I think it is so gorgeous!  And I will very likely be using it again and again.  I really like this card.

Thanks for stopping by today. ๐Ÿ˜‰
-Ally

3 thoughts on “Mojo Monday & Totally Hues

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

