Make It Monday #16, CR84FN #29, and Mojo Monday #192

Wow!  I didn’t realize I had fulfilled 3 challenges in one, but… AWESOME! ;-D

I am submitting this card for Make It Monday #16, CR84FN #29, and Mojo Monday #192.  This is my first submission for CR84FN, so I hope I did everything correctly!  They have the most fabulous color combos there, as well. 😉  Although, purples are generally a bit out of my comfort zone, also.  But I’ve had a great time challenging myself to use colors other than my ‘boring’ go-to favorites!



I will likely create more cards for the Make It Monday challenge, family life permitting. 😉

My card:

PTI Stamper’s Select White cardstock base, layered with PTI’s Kraft cardstock which was cut using the Edgers #1 die and edge inked in bronze.  Next, a layer of PTI’s Lavender Moon cardstock which was also cut using the Edgers #1 die, edge inked in Vintage Cream ink, and sent through with the Tin Types Impression Plate.

The main focal panel was cut from Stamper’s Select White cardstock using the Mat Stack 4 die, and the edges also inked in bronze.  I used the Background Basics: Text Style stamp set to create a text background, using a nearly-used-up Cat’s Eye bronze inkpad.  Then I used a vine from the Turning a New Leaf stamp set and Colorbox’s Moss Green ink to create another layer on the panel.  Last, the sentiment was stamped using one of the Sending You stamps in brown ink, and I added 3 mini pearls for embellishment.

I lined the bottom of the Lavender Moon layer with some American Crafts gathered ribbon.

I cut 3 butterflies of varying sizes, using hand punches (EK Success – Large; Martha Stewart – Medium; Marvy Uchida – Small).  The large butterfly was die cut from Plum Pudding cardstock and stamped in Versamark using a Fancy Flourishes stamp, then heat embossed with a glittered lavender powder.  The medium was cut from Lavender Moon cardstock and stamped with another Fancy Flourishes stamp and heat embossed with a glittered clear powder.  The small butterfly was simply cut from Plum Pudding cardstock.  I embellished all 3 with mini pearls.

I tried to follow Dawn’s suggestion of not necessarily using neutral or subdued color combos for sympathy cards, and trying something a little brighter, but not too bright.  Hopefully this one isn’t too bold or non-sympathy-like.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉

-Ally
6 thoughts on “Make It Monday #16, CR84FN #29, and Mojo Monday #192

  1. My goodness Ally!!! This is so darn pretty!!! WOWZAS! Love your take on the color challenge 🙂 Thanks so much for playing along with CR84FN!!!

  2. I really like the shaped layers on your card, and the lovely flourish leaves with beautiful butterflies. It's a lovely sympathy card. Thanks for playing along with CR84FN this week!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

