Play Date Cafe #82

Two posts in one day – now I’ve hit the big time, for sure, eh?! ;-D

This post is for the Play Date Cafe #82 challenge.

These colors just kept speaking ‘masculine’ to me.  I tried to use the colors for a feminine card, but the masculine theme was calling to me, so I made another one with the masculine theme.  I’ll show you the other one at the end, but here is my official entry card:

I used PTI Vintage Cream cardstock, edge inked a bit, as the base, and then layered it with PTI Dark Chocolate cardstock, with edges distressed a bit.

Then a block of misc mustard yellow cardstock, edges distressed as well.  Finally, a layer of misc aqua cardstock with distressed edges, and stamped with Versamark and Colorbox’s Cocoa ink using stamps from the PTI A Little Argyle stamp set.  I have absolutely no idea where these two cardstocks originated.  I’ve been buying cardstock and designer papers for years – back when I didn’t really know what to do with it all, but going gaga over how pretty they were and absolutely having to have them – and now it is all coming out of my eyeballs, there’s so much!  I bought it all when I had no idea I would need to keep track of what brand and type and such it was.

Moving on….  Three mini square brads embellish the top right of the card.

The sentiment panel was cut from Vintage Cream cardstock using one of the Ribbon Tags Trio dies, with some stenciling in Colorbox Cocoa and edge inking in Cat’s Eye bronze ink.  The sentiment is from PTI’s 2011 Birthday Tags.  The tag is wrapped with some brown twine I had on hand – again, who knows where this stuff came from! – and then raised for 3D effect with dimensional adhesive.

I figured it would be nice as a masculine birthday card.  Or for a girl who really likes chocolate brown with mustard yellow and aqua, I suppose!

And as an aside, here is the more feminine card I produced with these colors, CASEing myself from this card:

Thanks for stopping by (again) today. 😉
-Ally

7 thoughts on “Play Date Cafe #82

  1. Beautiful cards. I love the idea of CASE-ing yourself. Very cool. I adore the color blocking of the first one and its wonderful textured edges. The stencilling on the tag works a charm too. As for your second card, I just think it is so pretty. The dry embossed background and the texture of that fab bloom are a match made in heaven. Divine!

  2. I love both of your cards, the colours work well for both masculine and feminine. I love that you cased yourself too! Thanks for playing along with us at the Play Date Cafe this week!

  3. Both cards are lovely, Ally! Love the distressed edges on the first one, with it's twine accent and the second one is awesome with that beautiful flower! Thanks for playing along with us at the Play Date Cafe!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

