Make It Monday 16 Project 3 – Clean and Simple 141 – Color Throwdown 143

Third entry for the Make It Monday #16 challenge for sympathy cards.

I received my package of Papertrey new release products on Wednesday, and I was so very excited to see the Anniversary Set included.  I wasn’t sure if I had purchased enough stamp sets to qualify, but apparently I did – and I am beyond thrilled!  This stamp set is beautiful.  The images are so delightful, and the phrases and fonts are lovely.
I went right to work and created this card:

Included in the package was the Linen/Canvas Impression Plate, so I put that to immediate use as well on a PTI Rustic Cream cardstock base.  Then I cut another block of Rustic White cardstock for the main focal panel, edge inking it in Bronze Cat’s Eye ink.  I stamped the grass sections from the Anniversary Set a few times, using Colorbox Moss Green ink and stamping it off first to lighten it up a bit.

I cut three small butterflies using a Marvy Uchida hand punch, one from Berry Sorbet cardstock, one from Lemon Tart cardstock, and one from Sweet Blush cardstock, embellishing them with mini pearls.  I cut a large butterfly from Lemon Tart cardstock using an EK Success hand punch, stamping it with Versamark and a few flourishes from the Fancy Flourishes stamp set, then heat embossing them with clear powder.  I added 3 mini pearls for embellishment.

At the bottom of the focal panel, I added a section of PTI Kraft cardstock after I cut it with the short Edgers #1 die and edge inked it in Bronze.  I used Versamark again to stamp the sentiment from the Anniversary Set at the bottom, heat embossing it with clear powder.  Finally, I tied a section of Offray brown saddle-stitch ribbon above the sentiment.

I wasn’t sure if the butterflies would be too bright for a sympathy card or not.  But I know that if I saw it in the mail from a BFF in my time of mourning, I would definitely feel cheered a bit and be grateful to my friend.  Hopefully someone out there would also appreciate it.

I used the Sketch #141 layout from the Clean & Simple Stamping blog, so I plan to post this card there also.

I think I used colors (or close matches in another brand) from the current Color Throwdown challenge #143, so I may post it over there as well.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

3 thoughts on “Make It Monday 16 Project 3 – Clean and Simple 141 – Color Throwdown 143

  1. What a lovely card and very suitable for a sympathy card I think. It would offer some much needed cheer. Lovely colours too!

  2. This is a wonderful sympathy card. The butteflies are so sweet. I love how you've rounded and sponged the layers.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

