Viva La Verve May 2011 Week 1 Sketch and Play Date Cafe 83

So, I guess these Viva La Verve sketches are meant to be done week by week, more than in a big lump sum at the end of the month.  But though I’ve watched the sketches go by for a few months now, I haven’t made all the connections in my brain, until this past week when it finally all made sense to me.  And, I just barely (like within the last 10 minutes) discovered that I’ve been calling it Vive La Verve, instead of it’s correct name Viva La Verve.

Embarrassing.

Anyway.  I had a few days left until the deadline, and I was in the mood to make a bunch of cards, so I figured I would go for it!  So I spent a few days creating the 5 cards for the May challenges.  Next month I hope to go week by week.  I also hope to expand my collection of Verve stamps soon, so that I can have more variety when creating these cards!

So the next 5 days will (hopefully) feature these Viva La Verve cards I created.

First, Week 1 Sketch:

Any my take on it:

I used my Scor-Buddy to score pinstripes on the white cardstock, then ticket-stubbed the corners with my Corner Chomper, then layered it onto black cardstock with Making Memories mini silver brads on the corners.

The green paper (I think I bought it somewhere on ebay a few years ago), was cut using a Nestabilities Four die.  Then comes a strip of black cardstock, followed by a strip of silver shimmer cardstock that I dry embossed with a Cuttlebug Organic Flourish border folder.

The focal panel was cut with a Nestabilities Fancy Tags Three die, sponged through the stencil openings, then stamped with a sentiment from the Verve Blessings stamp set.  I added two clear Kaisercraft rhinestones that I colored with a green Sharpie.

I used the Play Date Cafe’s current color-splash challenge for this card.  (I changed my mind – I am going to submit it there, cuz I am totally fickle like that!)

Thanks for stopping by today. πŸ˜‰
-Ally

3 thoughts on “Viva La Verve May 2011 Week 1 Sketch and Play Date Cafe 83

  1. OHHH! I am loving that embossing! And that die is so beautiful! LOVE LOVE LOVE! Thanks so much for playing along with us over at the PDCC and joining in the FUN!

  2. Totally stunning, Ally! I'm loving your variety of embossed details! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

