Viva La Verve – May 2011 Week 3 Sketch

This post is for my entry in Viva La Verve’s Week 3 Sketch Challenge. 

The sketch:

And my card:

I began by edge inking a white cardstock base (Xpedx) in pink.  Then I layered it with misc black cardstock and some stripe-patterned cardstock.  I don’t know the brand – I think I picked it up at Robert’s or Joann years ago.  The aqua patterned paper at the top is just the reverse side of the striped paper.

I made the top focal panel by cutting black and white cardstocks with two Nestabilities Labels Three dies, embossing them both, and stencil-sponging the white with some Colorbox pink ink.  I cut a coordinating star from the striped cardstock using the Extra-Large Fiskars Twinkle Twinkle Star punch, then edge inked it with Colorbox Black ink, and raised it with dimensional adhesive for 3D effect.  I cut two smaller stars with the medium Fiskars Star punch from some Core’dinations shimmer cardstock and embellished them with two aqua Kaisercraft mini rhinestones.

For the sentiment panel, I simply cut a length of white cardstock, then sent it through with a Nestabilities Square die at an angle to create the banner effect on the end.  I edge inked it with black ink, stamped the Birthday sentiment from the Verve Blessings stamp set, then embellished with one more aqua rhinestone.

Thanks so much for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

