Make It Monday #17 – Cracked Glass

I didn’t plan to participate in this week’s Make It Monday.  I’ve never used the cracked glass technique, and I wasn’t sure I would have time to learn and practice.  My daughter broke her arm last week and her cast was put on this past Friday, so I’ve been trying to get her ‘situated’ and get myself adjusted to the new norm that that will be.

Then all but 1 in our family of 5 have come down with a nasty cold this past week (including Yours Truly).

Add all that and some summer scheduling excitement to the regular program of fibromyalgia, and I just was not feeling up to a challenge.

I tried at first, though.  On Monday, before coming down ill, I stopped in at Joann’s for some UTEE, but they didn’t have it in stock.  I quickly lost motivation after that and put it all out of my mind.

But I found myself in Roberts yesterday, for some weird reason (hee hee!), trying to get away from all the chaos.  And they happened to have some in stock, and I happened to have a 40% off coupon, so I figured what the heck!  I bought it, immediately drove home, and began working on a card.  And here it is:

I didn’t really have a concept in mind for this card.  I just started by stamping a little collage of background text and flowers and using the UTEE to be sure I could actually create a cracked glass panel first.  Then I kinda built everything around that.

I used the Mat Stack 4 die to cut some PTI Vintage Cream cardstock.  Then I stamped that Mat using Stampabilities Brown ink and the Background Basics: Text Style stamp set, stamping off some ink on scrap paper first for a background feel.  Then I used grass and flowers stamps from the Botanical Silhouettes Anniversary stamp set to create the overlying image, with Colorbox Moss Green and Old Rose inks.  Then I followed Heather’s tutorial for using the UTEE to create the cracked glass effect.

I layered that panel onto a block of Ripe Avocado cardstock, rounding the corners with my Corner Chomper and inking the edges a bit in Colorbox Bronze.  Then I raised that block onto Dark Chocolate cardstock using dimensional adhesive for 3D effect.

The base is also Vintage Cream cardstock, which was edge inked in bronze and stamped near the bottom using Colorbox Moss Green ink and the Background Basics: Text Style stamp set.  I used my new RickRack Border Die to cut a piece of Berry Sorbet cardstock, adhering it over the text background.  Last, I stamped a sentiment from the Mega Mixed Messages stamp set in brown and embellished with 3 Kaisercraft Antique Rose rhinestones of varying sizes.

There are a few little glitches in my cracked glass panel, but with some practice, I could definitely see myself using this technique again on my cards in the future.  So I’m glad I inadvertently found myself in Roberts buying some UTEE in an effort to escape the craziness of life, because I enjoyed learning this lovely new technique.  It was a fun experience for me.

Thanks so much for stopping by today. 😉
-Allys

4 thoughts on “Make It Monday #17 – Cracked Glass

  1. I love how you made the cracked glass using the Mat stack #4 and the botanical silhouettes with the text style sets! This is beautiful!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

