Viva La Verve – June 2011 Week 1 Sketch

I’m off to a good start this month on the Viva La Verve sketch challenges.  And I just received 4 new Verve stamp sets in the mail today, so I am excited to ink them up and work with the next sketch for this month.

But for now, here is the Week 1 sketch for June:

And this is my (slightly-disobedient) interpretation of the sketch:

I rotated the sketch and re-arranged where the sentiment would be.  The card base is a cream cardstock from my local Xpedx store.  The next layer is a patterned cardstock from the K&Company Classic K pack.  The tiny little ornaments on it are shimmery, so it’s a little sparkly in the right light.  I tried to capture a little bit of it reflecting light, but not too much that it would misconstrue what the card actually looks like, since the shimmer spots are a deeper teal color and not so white as this photo makes it look.  Anyhoo.

The next layer is a cream cardstock block with edges cut by the Martha Stewart Layered Arch Edge Punch on both sides.  I used my Viva Decor Cream Pearl Pen to dot along the edges for a little bit something more.

Following that is a layer cut from a single sheet of designer cardstock by K&Company that I bought years ago for my wedding scrapbook album and never used, as I have since realized that I much prefer card making over scrapbooking.  It is embossed along the diagonal lines, giving it a quilted appearance and texture in real life.

For the main focal panel, I used a Nestabilities Fancy Tags Two die to cut some teal shimmer cardstock from the DCWV Shimmer Stack, and I added a few Kaisercraft mini pearls to it.  I cut a cream oval using a Nestabilities Classic Ovals die, also using the die to emboss it, and then to stencil sponge the interior using some Memento Dew Drop Platinum Planet ink.  And in my rebellion, I stamped the wedding sentiment from the Verve Blessings stamp set directly onto the focal panel using Colorbox Silver ink, rather than adding a separate element for the sentiment as the sketch suggests.  As a final touch, I added 3 more mini pearls below the sentiment.

I really like this card, but I think it looks much better in real life.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

One thought on “Viva La Verve – June 2011 Week 1 Sketch

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

