Play Date Cafe #84 – Clean and Simple #143

I wanted to play along with the Play Date Cafe Challenge #84 this week,

as well as with the Clean & Simple Stamping #143 sketch.

I keep falling in love with all these inspiration photos on challenge blogs, and I dream of making a beautiful card.  I don’t know if I am just red/green challenged or if I just lack any real creative genes.  Maybe this type of card is just out of my-kind-of-style zone.  But this challenge kicked my tooshie!  Whatever the reason, this card seems weird to me, but here it is for your viewing pleasure:

I mirror-reversed the sketch, and added the sentiment to the focal panel instead of putting it next to it.  I hope that’s not too divergent.

I used a white cardstock base, edge inked in a little Colorbox Cranberry ink.  The green and gray cardstocks are misc ones I’ve had in my stash forever, and they have probably been wondering when I would get around to using them.  Well, Ta-da!  The green block was cut on both sides with the SU! Scallop Trim border punch.  The gray was dry embossed with the Cuttlebug Victoria folder.

I cut a smaller block of green cardstock and layered it with a block of white cardstock, edge inked in Cranberry.  The flowers and sentiments are from the Verve Kind Words stamp set – flowers stamped in Colorbox Sky Gray and the words in Cranberry.  I added two Kaisercraft red rhinestones to the flower centers.

I added a knotted section of red Offray satin saddle stitch ribbon (from my local Wal-Mart) to the bottom of the card.

Thanks for stopping by today. šŸ˜‰
-Ally

3 thoughts on “Play Date Cafe #84 – Clean and Simple #143

  1. I don't think your card seems weird at all! It's got nice balance, you've got textural interest with the punching and embossing, ribbon and bling. The ribbon from Walmart is so beautiful! Thanks for playing with us at The Play Date Cafe this week. šŸ™‚

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

