Papertrey June Blog Hop

The theme for the Papertrey Ink June Blog Hop is this beautiful inspiration photo from Pinterest:

All I could think about was that beautiful, multi-colored wall, and I wanted to use white space somehow with every single one of those colors on my card.  Though it wasn’t my first thought, I wanted to try my new RickRack die for this rainbow of colors, and this is how it turned out:

The base is Stamper’s Select White cardstock, then a layer of Aqua Mist cardstock.  The focal panel is also SS white, with rounded corners and edges inked in Colorbox (CB) Black ink.  I used the Thank You sentiment from the Communique Curves Sentiments stamp set, in CB black ink. 

From top to bottom, the colors I used (all of which are PTI Perfect Match cardstocks) are Simply Chartreuse, Spring Moss, Sweet Blush, Melon Berry, Orange Zest, Pure Poppy, Scarlet Jewel, Spring Rain, and Aqua Mist, all cut with the RickRack die.

The bow is some Hug Snug Seam Binding that I hand dyed myself.  I embellished with 3 Kaisercraft rhinestones in a light shade of green.

I wasn’t quite satisfied with that card though, so I made another one and went with my original plan of using the Edgers #1 die for a sort of ‘layers-of-ruffles’ card, this time adding some yellow after looking more intently on the inspiration photo:

The base for this card is also Stamper’s Select White cardstock, then a layer of Lemon Tart Cardstock, cut with the Edgers #1 die to match the rainbow of layers on the focal panel, which is raised above the Lemon Tart mat layer with dimensional adhesive.

The rainbow layers are in the same order as the first card, and the bottom edge of each is inked in a cream white ink to soften them up a little.

The sentiment is also from the Communique Curves Sentiments set, and I again added some hand-dyed seam binding ribbon for the bow and 3 Kaisercraft rhinestones in a melon color.

Make sure you check out all the fabulous entries in the Hop over at Nichole’s blog for more beautiful inspiration..

Thanks so much for stopping by today, and Happy Blog Hopping! πŸ˜‰
-Ally

34 thoughts on “Papertrey June Blog Hop

  1. LOVE it!That ric-rac card is just too fabby!Both are fabulous…but so loving the ric-rac and how you brought all the colors into it!!

  2. Love the bow on both cards. The sponging of the white on the second one allows it to be so soft while the first one looks more mod with the ric-rac.

  3. These are both fabulous! I love how the ric rac curves together and I love how the cream ink softens up the edges of your second card! Well played!

  4. Both card are gorgeous but the first one is my favorite. I love that it's a rainbow of colors but not in the typical order. Also love that huge, floofy bow!

  5. Gosh, these are both soooo pretty! Love the rainbow colors that you created and I especially love the one with the waves in all those colors!! That's so lovely and the bow is amazing!!! Great cards!Hugs, Wendy

  6. Holy Smokes! This is jawdroppingly gorgeous! What an innovative use of the edgers = The perfect ruffly flounce.

  7. Both cards are wonderful! And I love the seam binding bows on both as well. Such beautiful takes on the inspiration photo.

  8. AAAK! by far my favorite thus far! LOVE the rainbow effect on both and as I'm not a card maker (more of a seamstress of sorts), I see this as a GORGEOUS twirly skirt for Grand Duchess! Thanks for the inspiration!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

