Make It Monday #21 – Polaroid 2-Step Masking

I am happy to be back into enough of a routine to participate in another Make It Monday at Papertrey Ink.  It’s been a few weeks, I think, and it is nice to get back into some card making after a busy month of June.

Make It Monday #21 is about masking – specifically, a 2-step process of masking.  Nichole Heady has a great video tutorial on her blog at the underlined link in the last sentence, if you’d like to learn more about it.  I had a good time working through this process, and here is what I created:

The base is Stamper’s Select White cardstock, layered with Berry Sorbet cardstock with rounded corners, and then Simply Chartreuse cardstock also with rounded corners, but also edge inked in CB Cream White ink* and impressed with the Linen/Canvas Impression Plate.

The focal panel is also SS white cardstock, cut and embossed using a Nestabilities Labels Eight die.  Before removing the piece from the Nestie, I used an oval mask (cut with a Nestabilities Classic Ovals Small die) to cover the center so I could sponge a little Lime Green ink around it and then stamp some background text using Wild Hare grey ink and the Background Basics: Text Style stamp set.  I also edge inked that piece with a little Black ink.

Next, I removed the Nestie die and the oval mask, and placed a new copy-paper mask in the shape of the Labels Eight die, this time with the oval center shape cut out.  I stamped images from my new Wishing You stamp set using Wild Hare and Old Rose inks.  I hand cut a mask for the center flower stem before stamping the smaller stems to its sides.  I’m afraid my placement of the tulip buds atop the stems leaves a bit to be desired, but practice makes perfect, right? πŸ˜‰

Last, I stamped the sentiment from the Think Big Favorites #2 stamp set in black, and then added some mini pearls to the flowers for a little bit of embellishment.

The colors are not my typical choice, but I kinda like them.  And I didn’t plan for it to turn out so plain, and I wondered how to work in some ribbon or something else for interest.  But really, I don’t mind it being plain.  My style is pretty organized and linear, clean and simple, and I tend to prefer more ‘compact’ or flat cards rather than too many layers that bulk it up too much, so it works for me.

Thanks for stopping by today! πŸ˜‰
-Ally

* All inks used are ColorBox unless otherwise noted.

2 thoughts on “Make It Monday #21 – Polaroid 2-Step Masking

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

