Viva La Verve – June 2011 Week 3 Sketch

Week 3 for the Viva La Verva Sketches, this one by Sankari Wegman:

The card I made is not my typical ‘style’ of card making.  Maybe it’s because I have so few Verve stamps so far, which makes me feel like I need to use my patterned papers more.  Or perhaps it’s just that Verve brings out a different kind of style in me.  I don’t know.  It just feels like the cards I make with my Verve stamps have a different quality to them, for some reason.  Whatever it is, I like it!!  It’s nice for me to try new styles, especially because I still feel like there are so many styles out there that I admire, but I still feel like I am an insecure beginner in so many ways.  It’s fun for me to discover if there are other aspects to MY style after trying new things.

Anyway, here is my card:

The base is a cream cardstock from Xpedx.  I covered it with some DP from the DCWV Rustic Stack.  I’ve wanted to use them for a while.  I arranged them all in place and added some zigzag stitching with my sewing machine.

With the machine out, I added a section of some misc lace trim I found at Wal-Mart, I believe.  I’ve been wanting to use this for a while, too. 😉

The sentiment panel was cut with a Nestabilities Labels Eight die and then embossed and stencil sponged before removing it from the die.  The sponging ink is ColorBox Old Rose.  I used Versamark and a gold embossing powder to heat emboss the quote from the Verve Blessings stamp set.  I added three mini pearls for embellishment, then adhered the panel over a strip of moss green 7/8″ grosgrain ribbon down the side.

The butterflies were cut from coordinating embossed and glittered cardstock using the SU! Beautiful Wings embosslit die.  I added two pearls to the largest butterfly, then adhered them around the sentiment panel.

Thanks so much for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

One thought on “Viva La Verve – June 2011 Week 3 Sketch

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

