Viva La Verve – June 2011 Week 4 Sketch

Week 4 for the Viva La Verve Sketches, by Teresa Kline:

I thought I might try each month to make at least one of the sketches into a masculine card, just because.  I had this finished card sitting by me last night, and when Hubby sat down next to me, he remarked, “That looks like a man card.”  I smiled and said, “Thank you!”  I never know if what I deem to be ‘masculine’ is actually masculine to someone who is masculine, so it was nice to have his affirmation. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here is my card:

The base is Xpedx white cardstock, edge inked in ColorBox Black ink, and stamped with a grid-pattern stamp from the Glitz Distressing stamp set in black ink.

The bottom portion is a misc black, crumpled, velvetty specialty paper I bought on eBay years ago.  Maybe if you click on the above photo and look very closely with your magnifying glass, you might be able to see it – haha!  I distressed the edges a little, and then knotted some black/white saddle stitch ribbon at the bottom of the block.

At the top, is another specialty paper bought years ago on eBay, in a grey velvetty stars pattern.  I raised that block with dimensional adhesive above two strips of blue shimmer cardstock (from the DCWV Shimmer Stack) which were cut with the PTI Banner Borders die.

I used the Nestabilities Stars 5 dies to create the big white star and the small blue stars, embossing them all with the dies.  The large white star is edge inked in black, stamped with the same grid stamp in grey this time, and stamped in black with the sentiment from Verve’s Wish Big stamp set.

I purposely tried to avoid all frilly things (besides that ribbon) such as pearls, rhinestones, flowers, lace, etc.

Hopefully, it speaks masculine!

Thanks so much for stopping by today. ๐Ÿ˜‰
-Ally

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

