Summer Card Camp – Week 2 Featured Color Combo

First, I want to say Thank You! to all those who stopped by and commented on my Student Spolighted card last week.  I’ve been trying to get around to blogs and respond, but I just cannot seem to get ahead these days!  I never really think my life is very busy, but I always find myself falling behind in so many areas.  But I appreciate each and every comment left on my blog, at any time, and I appreciate the effort it takes to do so.  Thank you!!

We had a fun Independence Day weekend, though being out and about for fun does cut into my crafting time – haha!  But I did manage to get my first card made for Week 2 of Summer Card Camp.  I say ‘first card’ in the hopes that I’ll be able to create more.  I was so jealous last week, seeing on other blogs that some were on their 6th, 7th, and even 10th cards for the Camp, and I was still only on my first!   I would LOVE to have that amount of crafting time. ;-D

Anyway.  Here is the featured color combo:

And here is my creation:  (obviously NOT Mexican Fiesta or Summer oriented!)

I guess whenever I see a color combo, and particularly a bold, bright color combo, I tend to think to myself, “Now, how can I organize/arrange these colors in as subdued a way as possible?”  LOL!  And so, I don’t usually put reds, oranges, yellows, etc, right up front and center.  I guess I’m just so boring, like that!  It’s a real internal struggle inside myself to go with bold colors on my cards.  (Admitting it is half the battle, right?!) 😉

Moving on… The card base is PTI Stamper’s Select white cardstock, layered with some Spring Moss cardstock that was sent through the Cuttlebug with the Linen/Canvas Impression Plate and then edge inked with ColorBox (CB) Cream White ink.*  I selectively inked a one-line sentiment from the Big & Bold Wishes stamp set to make it two separate lines at the bottom right, and then added 3 red Kaisercraft rhinestones for embellishment.

For the focal panel, I cut some New Leaf cardstock with the Mat Stack 4 die, stamping and heat embossing it with one of the Background Basics: Twinkle stamps, and edge inked the Mat in CB Frost White ink.  I raised it on dimensional adhesive above a strip of Summer Sunrise cardstock that I cut on the sides with my pinking shears.

Next, I cut some SS white cardstock with the Fillable Frames #10 die, edge inking it in CB Parchment ink.  I stamped a flourish from the Fancy Flourishes stamp set in CB Parchment ink on the left side, then stamped the flowers and centers from the Women of Life stamp set (flowers in CB Scarlet, centers in CB Amber).  The sentiment is from the Communique Curves Sentiments stamp set, stamped in CB black.  I raised that frame on dimensional adhesive also, and embellished with 4 red Kaisercraft rhinestones on the corners of the frame.

Thanks so much for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

*All inks used are ColorBox unless otherwise noted.

One thought on “Summer Card Camp – Week 2 Featured Color Combo

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

