Viva La Verve – July 2011 Week 1 Sketch

This week’s Viva La Verve Sketch by Amber Hight:

Um…, I have never done a square card in my life.  Ever.  So this was a first for me.  I stopped by my local craft store this morning, to hopefully pick up a few envelopes to fit square cards, but I realize I should have made my card larger, to fit the envelopes available, because I couldn’t find any in the size I made my card.  I’ll keep looking.  But until then…

Here is my creation:

The base is PTI Stamper’s Select white cardstock, in a 4.25″x4.25″ size.  The color palette I used is one of the extra color combos from Week 1 at the Summer Card Camp – in soft greens and blues.  The first layer is a misc pastel green from my stash, which I embossed in a diamond pattern using my Scor-Buddy, and then I distressed the edges a little with my scissors.

I used a 4″ Wilton doily for the circle element in the middle, and then layered it with the grid squares in various misc cardstocks from my stash, each stamped and heat embossed with stamps from the Verve Hearts on Fire stamp set, using Versamark and white powder.  I inked the edges of the blocks with some ColorBox (CB) Frost White ink, and stamped the ‘thanks’ sentiment in CB Black ink using a stamp from the Verve Celebration of Thanks stamp set.

At the bottom, I attached a section of knotted Offray white saddle-stitch ribbon (from my local Wal-Mart) and some Caribbean Teal and White Baker’s Twine from The Twinery tied in a bow.

A fairly simple card.  But chalk one up for trying something new.  I had a fun time with this square card.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

