Viva La Verve – July 2011 Week 2 Sketch

This week, I got a jump on the Viva La Verve July Sketch 2 by Tosha Leyendekker:

And here is my fairly literal translation:

Since my Hubby needed a Thank You card this week, I figured this would be a good time to try a more masculine card on one of the sketches.  Hubby is the head of our neighborhood Scout troop right now, and last week he and the Scouts (12 to 16-year-olds) were given a tour by a fellow neighbor, who is an Air National Guardsman.  They really enjoyed the tour, and so I thought it would be nice to make a Thank You card they could all sign and give to him to show gratitude.

Since this neighbor is a man, in the Air National Guard, I really wanted to create a card that was masculine and clean and sharp.  But not boring.

So I added a few textured pieces, since I figured flowers were out of the question. 😉  I crimped the Kraft section on the left, used a PTI impression plate on the upper light blue block, and scored some pin-stripes on the dark blue block at the bottom.  Then I edge inked everything in brown and/or bronze ink.  Instead of the scallops, I added some twine at the bottom.

The stars are each raised on dimensional adhesive to give a little bit on depth on the card somewhere.  The gold stars are brads that have been in my stash for many, many years.  I cut off the prongs behind and used dimensional adhesive to adhere them so the prongs wouldn’t have to show through on the inside of the card.

I know guys aren’t generally too enthralled by handmade/homemade cards, but hopefully he will appreciate the thought of it.  And it will be a good exercise for the Youth to show gratitude for someone who has done them a service.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used
Stamps:  Sentiment – Celebration of Thanks (Verve)
Cardstock:  Rustic White, Kraft (PTI); Blueberry Sky, Enchanted Evening (PTI)
Inks:  Brown (Stampabilities), Bronze (ColorBox)
Embellishments:  Gold Stars (I have no idea, I’m sorry!); Rustic Cream Button Twine (PTI)
Tools:  Stars 5 (Nestabilities); Paper Crimper (Fiskars)

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

