Summer Card Camp – Fingerinking Technique

I found a little time for crafting last night and this morning, so I decided to try out this week’s technique at Summer Card Camp using the week’s featured color combo again:

The technique is named “fingerinking,” in which you use your fingers to distribute the ink over an embossed image – which utilizes the emboss resist technique also – for a sort of marbled effect.  This was my first attempt with any technique of this sort, either fingerinking or emboss resist, so it was a learning experience for me.  Hopefully it didn’t turn out too poorly!

My creation:

First thing I did was to grab some coupons and head to my local craft stores to purchase some Distress Inks, since I had none.  I just purchased an assortment and figured it would work itself out somehow!  I also grabbed some shimmer spritz while I was there, just for kicks.

Next, I began the project by making the focal panel first, to see how the color would end up being distributed, in order to gauge how I should use the other colors.  So this card developed from the focal panel, rather than with a predetermined design.  It’s a pretty simple design, though.  I think.

After stamping the image and heat embossing it in white, I began the inking with some Tea Dye and Vintage Photo, and then worked in some Tattered Rose and Barn Door til the result seemed interesting.  I misted it with some Shimmer Spritz (which you can barely see in the above photo) and inked the edges with the Vintage Photo ink.  It didn’t quite turn out how I thought it would, but all in all, I’m fairly pleased with my first attempt at this technique.

Since this is a learning experience, I won’t feel too bad to admit that my sentiment is stamped slightly crooked, which led to a slightly crooked placement of the rhinestones.  The drawback of using our hands and not machines, eh?!

Anyway.  Not too bad, I suppose.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used
Stamps:  Wildflowers (Sweet & Sassy Stamps); Through the Trees (PTI)
Cardstock:  Rustic White, Dark Chocolate, Pure Poppy (PTI)
Inks:  Tea Dye, Vintage Photo, Tattered Rose, Barn Door (Tim Holtz Distress Inks); Versamark; Bronze Pigment Ink (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections from Michaels); Brown Satin Saddle Stitch Ribbon (Offray); Bronze Embossing Powder (Hampton Arts); Sheer Shimmer Spritz (Tsukineko)
Tools:  Layered Arches Border Punch (Martha Stewart); Mat Stack #4 Die (PTI); Cane Print Impression Plate (PTI)

One thought on “Summer Card Camp – Fingerinking Technique

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

