VLV July Week 3 Sketch – Just Us Girls #93

I had a little extra crafting time this past weekend, so I got busy with the Viva La Verve Sketch for Week 3 by Maureen:

And I utilized the colors from the Just Us Girls #93 Challenge.  I looked and looked through the blog there, but couldn’t find anywhere that says it’s a challenge site specific to a particular brand of stamps (SU!, for instance), cuz I know there are some like that.  Though I have some of their products, I do not have one single SU! stamp, so I typically avoid the strictly SU! challenge blogs.  This is my first time posting for that Challenge, so I’d hate to have it all wrong!  But I guess if I’m not legal, they’ll kick out my link, right?

When you see my card, though, you might wonder if I’m color blind:

I am NOT a photographer.  I have tried to teach myself about my new DSLR camera I received for my birthday last year, and I think I’m getting better.  But sometimes, I just don’t know what the heck I’m doing and how I can snap a better photo.  I tried about 6 times to get a decent, accurate color representation of this card, obviously to no avail.  The coral on my card is not as RED as these photos make it out to be. **sigh**  In real life, it is a nice, rich coral color, not so dark and not so red.  Either way, I guess I didn’t keep to the shade of coral from the challenge very well.

Anyway.  I had a good time creating it, just the same.

I realized just after I adhered that little grey Sizzix flourish to the left of the tissue flower, that I probably should have added some glitter to it or something.  It looks a little bland there.  Oh well.

The grey background I used is also considerably darker than the grey from the challenge.

Sheesh – Maybe I really AM color blind!!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Celebration of Thanks (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Cardstock (PTI); Doily (Wilton); Designer Paper (DCWV Sweet Stack); Misc Coral Tissue Paper
Inks:  Antique Pewter, Papaya Cream (ColorBox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Martha Stewart and Kaisercraft); Misc Rhinestone Brad;
Tools:  Standard Circles, Classic Scallop Circles (Nestabilities); Ric-Rac Border Die (PTI); Victoria Embossing Folder (Cuttlebug); Scor Buddy; Sizzix Flourish Die

3 thoughts on “VLV July Week 3 Sketch – Just Us Girls #93

  1. Hi Ally!! Nope, we're not specific to any brand of product at all (sometimes we have sponsors, but even then we don't often limit it to any one company). You're totally LEGIT!!!! And your card is FABULOUS!!! I hear on the photos, sometimes my colors don't always translate 😛 But this is BEAUTIFUL! So glad you played along with Just Us Girls!!!

  2. Ummmmmm, let me just say this, about THAT! "NAILED IT!" Your use of Just Us Colors are GORGEOUS, in my book, anyhow! I LOVE this card! Exquisite use of color, texture and ALL kinds of wonderful materials! This IS craftilicious, baby! Thanks for sharing your DIVINE take on our colors with JUST US GIRLS! Yipeeeee!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

