Make It Monday 24 – Card #1

The topic for PTI’s Make It Monday this week is dry brushing.  Lisa Johnson used paint in her video, but I used my PTI Fresh Snow ink pad with my brush.

I realize this card might seem a little boring.  And though I’m not quite thrilled with my placement of the birds, I absolutely love this card.  I love the earthy colors, the sentiment, and the simplicity of it all.
After dry brushing the edges of the focal panel and getting everything else stamped in place, I wondered how I might dress it up a bit, with ribbon, twine, etc.  But I just couldn’t do it.  This will sound crazy, but it just seemed morally wrong for me to add anything else to it. ;-D
Even adding those 3 green rhinestones to the top right corner almost felt wrong to me.  But I left them.
Another view of the dry brushing, at the bottom left.  The focal block is raised on foam dimensional adhesive for some depth.
Sometimes I feel insecure with what I perceive my style to be – kinda plain, old fashioned, earthy, simple – thinking I should add more bling, more layers, more something to my cards, to make them more appealing.
But sometimes, when my style just shows up and says “Here I am, please just accept me for what I am and enjoy the simplicity,” it’s hard for me to keep adding and trying to find that ‘wow factor.’  Sometimes it’s just simple, and pleasant, and not so much wow.
I really don’t mind that.  I like things simple.
Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Through the Trees (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White, Dark Chocolate, Ripe Avocado, Kraft (Papertrey Ink)
Inks:  Fresh Snow (Papertrey Ink); Versamark; Chestnut (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft)
12 thoughts on “Make It Monday 24 – Card #1

  1. OMG. I think the simplicity is positively gorgeous! And you used the dry brush technique so well. It works perfectly for your card. Great job!!

  2. This is wonderful! Perfect for the MIM Challenge! I really love the look of the misty woods with the earth tones and black birds! Very nicely done.

  3. I applaud you for listening to your heart and not adding anything else. The scene evokes the edge of the woods in the early morning with just a bit of snow and frost in the air. It's beautiful, Allyson, just the way it is. Your post is nicely written and the photography frames your examples beautifully. I can certainly understand why you got a big shout out for this. *smiling*Sincerely,Susie ~

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

