VLV July Week 4 Sketch and Play Date Cafe #91

A card for the Viva La Verve July 2011 Week 4 Sketch, by Laurie Schmidlin:

And finally working in the Play Date Cafe challenge this week, #91:

My creation:

For a long time, I’ve wanted to try the liquid pearl outline dots that are signature Sankari style, so I gave that a whirl on this card, since it seemed like it needed a little something else and I couldn’t figure out what that something was.  Maybe I forgot to shake the little bottle, or I’m just really bad at it, but it didn’t turn out quite like I’d hoped.

Anyway.  So many things went ‘wrong’ with this card along the way – had a lot of trouble putting it together – so assembling it was more of a headache for me than a joy, which is unusual.  Usually, I enjoy the creative process, regardless of whether the outcome is perfect or not.  This card is not my favorite, we’ll just say that. πŸ˜›

The embossed/shimmery paper that I used for the heart is some specialty paper I’ve had in my stash for years, and I have no idea what the name or brand is.  But the grey/white layer on bottom is from the K&Company Elegance Paper Pack.  The flower is one that I crocheted myself.  I think I need to add a few little pearls to the middle of that top flourish…. maybe.

I thought it would be fun to add these two charms I found at Joann.  The card just seemed to call for some silver on it.  The flourishes on the sentiment panel are stamped in a Platinum metallic ink, so they are light reflective, which you can see a tiny bit of in the above photo.

Maybe it’s just because this card seems so far outside my style zone, but I’m glad this one is over! Whew!
Thanks for stopping by today. πŸ˜‰
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Blessings (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); Black Shimmer Cardstock (DCWV); Misc DP; Misc Cardstock; Grey/White DP (K&Company Elegance Paper Pad)
Inks:  Black, Papaya Cream (Colorbox); Platinum (Tsukineko Dew Drop)
Embellishments:  Hirschberg Silver Charms (from Joann); Hand-crocheted Flower; Pearl Brad (American Crafts); Embroidery Floss; Cream Pearl Pen (Viva Decor); Ruffled Ribbon (Offray); Machine Stitching
Tools:   Labels One Die, Labels Three Die (Nestabilities); Layered Arches Border Punch (Martha Stewart)
10 thoughts on “VLV July Week 4 Sketch and Play Date Cafe #91

  1. Oh! I'm so sorry that the creation of this card didn't bring you much joy, but it's absolutely breathtaking! LOVE those Liquid Pearl drops and all the beautiful, little elements that put this card in a category all its own! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

  2. A beautiful card, love the extra touches of the little charms and crocheted flower, I've been bloghopping and found your site, I've joined as a follower so I can come back and see more of your beautiful cards. I had a quick look around, they are all lovely,Sandy

  3. I love Sankari's signature style too, I've had a play. Your card is beautiful, you really should be proud of it. Sometimes it's the ones we didn't enjoy making that bring everyone the most pleasure! Thanks for playing along with us over at the Play Date Cafe this week!

  4. I am really enjoying your blog and am your newest follower…I would love to have you pop by Julie's Open Window, follow along and have fun!!I love Sankari's style too and this really is a beautiful card…

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

