Make It Monday #27 – Project 1

An attempt at this week’s Make It Monday challenge, to create custom ribbon using copic markers.

It’s interesting, to me, the way the creative process works sometimes, how it takes on a life of its own and almost makes you a puppet, doing the bidding of some force greater than you are!

I don’t own copic markers, so I thought I would sit out this challenge.  But I wanted to be creative.  So I broke out my Tombow markers and tried them on some ribbon.  Didn’t work.  I broke out every single kind of marker I owned and tried them.  The only ones that worked were some metallic Galaxy Markers by American Crafts.  So out of 100+ markers, I had 4 to work with:  pink, blue, green, and gold.  Slim pickin’s!

Well, the pink didn’t work very well, and I’m not much of a gold fan, so I went with blue and green.  And then I wondered, what in the heck am I supposed to do with this blue and green markered ribbon?!  Obviously, I went masculine.  Every idea I thought I had just felt awkward, and the process kinda felt like an out-of-body experience.

But I finally produced this card:

I glittered the stars, so it is difficult to decipher, but they are blue (layered onto the Kraft) and brown at the top, and green at the bottom.

As you can see, the ribbon is very, very primitive.  But I’m proud to say that after much trial and error, I finally was able to mark some straight lines across the ribbon! ;-D

I think this is the first time I have used my Tag Sale #3 die, which is sad because I really like it!  I’ll have to make a point to use it more.  I think it may also be the first time I’ve used Pinefeather cardstock on a project.

Well, I’ve wanted to learn how to use copics, but I hadn’t planned to purchase any copics for a while.  After making this card, though, I went online to find the nearest local brick store to carry copics.  I plan to pick up a few on Thursday (in more ‘exciting’ colors) to give me a little versatility in making another project for this challenge.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White, Dark Chocolate, Enchanted Evening, Kraft, Pinefeather cardstocks (PTI)
Inks:  Bronze, Chestnut (Colorbox); Metallic Galaxy Markers (American Crafts)
Embellishments:  Silver Mini Brads (Making Memories); White Sugar Coating Glitter (Doodlebug); White Grosgrain Ribbon (Celebrate It from Michaels); Rustic Cream Button Twine (PTI)
Tools:   Tag Sale #3 die, Jar Labels 2 die, Picnic Plaid impression plate (PTI); Crop-A-Dile Stub Corner Chomper (We R Memory Keepers); Star Squeeze Punches (Fiskars)
2 thoughts on “Make It Monday #27 – Project 1

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

