Make It Monday #27 – Project 2

A second project for Papertrey Ink’s Make It Monday #27, creating custom ribbons with copic markers.

Before I show the card, I have a little story about it.  (Scroll down if you’d rather just see the card.)

My BFF’s birthday is on August 23.  She and I met for lunch yesterday, when my Hubby graciously took a day off from work so that I could take MY day off from work!  (Yes, I am a homemaker – but for Pete’s sake, I think being a mother is more work than any other job, so yes I work!  I work my tooshie off, actually.  I don’t just sit around eating Bon Bons and watching Soap Operas!  So there.  Now that I’ve got that off my chest, shall we continue??)

We went to this posh little restaurant that serves the most delicious sandwiches and salads (turkey/avocado/tomato/bacon on honey wheat bread with garlic aioli sauce TO DIE FOR!), and after the meal they bring these adorable teeny, tiny little macaroons out on a plate with a lovely white doily.  I saw that doily and immediately grabbed it, telling my BFF that it was gorgeous and I wanted to take it home and see if I could make a card with it.  She asked me to send her a photo of the card I made with it.

I’m doing her one better. 😉  I’m sending her the card for her birthday!!

And here is my restaurant-doily creation:

I spared no expense on this card, breaking out all kinds of Papertrey products I haven’t used yet, notably the Parisian Doily, the Half & Half dies and stamp set, and the 2010 Love Tags stamp set.

First, though, I had to stop in at my local Archiver’s on my day off to purchase some copic markers.  I bought 8 different colors to hopefully match some of PTI’s colors fairly well, and then went right to work on the card this morning.
I just ADORE these Half & Half dies and stamps!  I’m not sure I have the design know-how to use them in the sophisticated ways they seem to be made for, but I think they are so fabulous.  You can barely see it here, but I used the coordinating stamp for this die and some Papaya Cream ink to stamp it onto the white cardstock as an ever-so-subtle background behind the text.  Looks a little better in real life.
Anyway.  I hope that when she receives this card, she will think it’s pretty, but that it will also be a reminder to her, for a long time, that I value her friendship so much and am grateful to have a Best Friend Forever who knows me and supports me in everything, who knows the things I’m thinking before I even speak them, and who knows exactly how to respond to all my little life’s trials and joys!
In my experience, BFF’s are hard to find, and I’m so grateful to be blessed to have found a true one.
Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Half & Half, 2010 Love Tags (PTI)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White, Melon Berry, Spring Moss Cardstocks (PTI); Misc Doily from a Local Restaurant 😉
Inks:  Chestnut, Papaya Cream, Bronze (Colorbox); Copic Sketch Markers – R22 and YG11
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft and Recollections from Michaels); White Grosgrain Ribbon (Celebrate It from Michaels)
Tools:   Linen/Canvas Impression Plate (PTI); Parisian Doily, Limitless Layers 1.75″, Half and Half Dies (PTI)
3 thoughts on “Make It Monday #27 – Project 2

  1. Such a beautiful card for a beautiful friend 🙂 I am so glad I'm not the only one who grabs things from restaurants to use on cards! My friends think I'm mad! :)I think your use of the half & half sets are perfectly sophisticated! I've not seen this set before, but it's lovely isn't it!?Ugh, another one on the wish list! 🙂

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

