Papertrey Ink August Blog Hop

Here is the inspiration photo for the Papertrey Ink Blog Hop this month:

Photo Credit

Things about the photo that attracted me were the background pattern inside the case, those little pink flowers, and the fabrics – which reminded me of muslin fabric.  The colors I liked were the cream, pink, red and green, which I interpreted as Vintage Cream, Raspberry Fizz, Pure Poppy, and Simply Chartreuse.

Here is my creation:

I purchased the Guide Lines stamp set a few months ago, and I’ve been wanting to give it some love.  The lining of the case in the photo seemed like the perfect test run for that.

I cut a piece of white muslin fabric and stamped the guide lines and medallions onto it using grey ink, adding some little bursts (from the Borders and Corners stamp set) to the centers of the medallions using pink ink and to the blank intersections using the same grey ink.  I backed the fabric with some Vintage Cream cardstock to try to make it more of a cream color like the case inset, and then matted it onto Pure Poppy cardstock, stitching around the perimeter with my sewing machine.

I used stamps from the Communique Curves Sentiments, Mehndi Medallion, and Sending You sets for the Fillable Frames #4 panel, edge inking it in bronze and adding some clear mini rhinestones.

I used the Flower Fusion #4 die to cut flowers from Raspberry Fizz cardstock, cutting them in towards the center a little and edge inking them in cranberry ink to create some definition for the petals.  I added some yellow mini brads to the centers.

I cut some leaf branches from Simply Chartreuse cardstock using the Turning A New Leaf die set, also stamping them with the coordinating stamp set using Versamark.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

You can find more awesomely creative projects on the Blog Hop by going to Nichole’s blog.  Inspiration aplenty!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:  (all supplies are from Papertrey Ink unless otherwise noted)
Inks:  Bronze, Razzberry, Moss Green, Sky Gray, Cranberry, Chestnut (Colorbox); Versamark
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections, from Michael’s); Yellow Mini Brads (Don’t know the brand); Muslin Fabric
45 thoughts on “Papertrey Ink August Blog Hop

  1. This is so pretty! Your guidelines use is a GREAT take on the inspiration pic & all the other sweet details tie it all together! I love that you stamped on muslin!!

  2. Ally this is beautiful. Love what you've done with the fillable frames die and your flowers are adorable! Happy Hopping 🙂

  3. The guidelines stamping is just gorgeous on the muslin. The focal details – flowers, leaves and sentiment panel, really 'pop' against the background.

  4. Very nice, Ally. Stamping on the muslin was a great idea. Your card reflects many of the elements seen in the inspiration photo. A nicely balanced interpretation.Sincerely,Susie ~

  5. Love the background you created, Ally. Perfect colors, perfect inking and placement of all the flowers. Really a spectacular card. Thanks for your visit to my blog and and for the encouragement and prayers!

  6. Sooo pretty! That guide lines set is on my wishlist for this month! It's an older set, but it only recently caught my attention, it's gorgeous the way you used it! Love the colors! Great card!Hugs, Wendy

  7. I am just smitten with this cute cute card!!! I really like your stamped background on the muslin….such a perfect detail you took from the suitcase. Then you've use the images above your sentiment…….it frames it so nicely. Gosh, it looks like I could go on and on but then I wouldn't get to the rest of the hop! Thanks so much for sharing with us!

  8. Wow Ally this is incredible! The way you created the stamped fabric background is so fantastic and the flowers and leaves that match the inspiration photo look beautiful!

  9. Beautiful card, love your background it's so perfect, I love your flowers , without even seeing your card I came up with almost the same idea with the flowers. take care.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

