Make It Monday #31 – Project 1

I can’t believe it is already time for Papertrey Sneak Peeks!  So exciting. 😉

I was also excited yesterday morning when I saw the topic for the new Make It Monday challenge of creating backgrounds with non-background stamps.

I was sitting in church two days ago, and the lady in front of us was wearing this pretty dress with a leaf/branch/flourish pattern in grey/coral/black colors.  I sat studying it, noticing how all the different patterns looked so very much like PTI stamps from the Fancy Flourish, Harvest Berries, and Turning A New Leaf sets.  I wanted to run home right away and create this background!  I wish I could have taken a picture of her pretty dress so you could see how similar the patterns were to the PTI stamps – it was seriously uncanny!!

But I spent a little time last night, my last night before starting school lessons, down in my craft room trying to reproduce the patterns on that dress, and I think I came pretty darn close!

It didn’t turn out exactly how I saw it in my mind, but I just love it!  I think it’s funny how I find myself staring at people’s clothes or scenery along a drive or anything that looks interesting, wondering how I can turn it into a card somehow.  This was such a fun creation for me, especially after not having made a card for over a week!

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Botanical Silhouettes, Fancy Flourishes, Harvest Berries, Mat Stack 1, Turning A New Leaf (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Berry Sorbet, Stamper’s Select White, True Black (Papertrey Ink)
Inks:  Black, Old Rose, Sky Grey (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft)
15 thoughts on “Make It Monday #31 – Project 1

  1. PTI releases are SO fun, but so hard on my little wallet 😉 This is so pretty! The layered elements and soft colors are lovely. Beautiful card!

  2. You are back in crafty mode! LOVE THIS!!! The flourishes add so much.Isn't it funny how we look at fabrics and all matter of things differently with stamping projects on our minds 🙂

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

