Play Date Cafe #97 and Clean and Simple #156

We arrived back in town Saturday afternoon from our week-long vacation, and I was eager to find a challenge to help me create something before the withdrawals swallowed me whole.  Just kidding – it wasn’t that bad.  We had a nice vacation, but I was definitely ready to get crafty!

I was bummed that there just wasn’t enough time for me to play along with most of the challenges I had missed last week.  But I have to just let it go.  We’re beginning our homeschool studies this week, adding in the twin preschoolers.  Between all the prep work and implementation, I have my work cut out for me.

I won’t be able to do everything.  And when considering my priorities, cards will not be at the top of the list.  Hopefully I’ll get a sufficient fill in each week, though, and still be able to participate with things.  If all else fails, I’ll have to stay up late every now and then to make some time. 😉

Anyway!

I needed a little help with design ideas after a long week away, so I used the Clean & Simple Stamping #156 sketch to go along with  The Play Date Cafe #97 color challenge.  And here is my creation:

It is Color Splash week, with the splash being red.  I wanted to try those rumpled/distressed modern-looking circle flowers.  I like the way the flower turned out, but I had a little trouble embossing the sentiment with white powder.  I made the photo large only, because I’m embarrassed.  But if you enlarge the photo you’ll see the little specs of powder that got ‘stuck’ and I couldn’t brush them out before or scratch them off after embossing.  It’s a little disconcerting to me, but I think I’ll get over it.  Eventually.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉

-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Think Big Favorites #1, Sending You (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, True Black, Pure Poppy (Papertrey Ink)
Inks:  Versamark; Black (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Glitter Brad (American Crafts – I colored a white one black with a Sharpie marker); Super Fine Glitter (I don’t know the brand); White Embossing Powder
Tools:   Standard Circles (Nestabilities); Sending You Die, Rickrack Die (Papertrey Ink)
5 thoughts on “Play Date Cafe #97 and Clean and Simple #156

  1. Wow, Ally…I absolutely adore this card! That red flower is just beautiful, and so striking against the black background! Awesome design and awesome card! Glad to have you join us at the Play Date Cafe!

  2. ps…don't worry–I also get extra white specs on my embossing—did you try the embossing buddy powder? It usually helps when I do it! I also blow across my image/embossing before I heat it. If I still see pieces left–I use a very small paint brush to wipe them away. I think this turned out FABULOUS though! NO WORRIES:)

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

