Make it Monday #34 – Project 2

I think I might be getting back into my card-making groove.  I spent a little time yesterday playing around with the thick chipboard accents for Papertrey Ink’s Make It Monday #34 challenge.

I’m not sure how I feel about this card, though.  I went really, really simple on the chipboard accents, using my spellbinders square and rectangle dies to make little gift boxes.  I thought it would be cute to wrap them with some twine, but that presented problems when I went to adhere them to the card.  It is a one-layer card, which didn’t leave much room for error with glue – I always seem to end up with warping.

I finally adhered them with Glossy Accents because all the other glues I tried were so weak, but there was some warping on the cardstock.  I adhered another panel of white cardstock to the back of the card front, but it still has a bit of a bend.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Also, I wish I hadn’t stamped that extra sentiment in red.  After I stamped it, I thought it looked goofy having two sentiments with the word ‘wishes’ in them.  I also wish I would have used a darker grey for the sheet music background stamping.  But, oh well!

I seem to be on this white, single-layer card kick.  I’ve avoided it for so long, because I’m not confident enough in my stamping skills – it’s so much easier to hide things with matting and extra layers!

Thanks for stopping by today. ๐Ÿ˜‰
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  2011 Birthday Tags, Background Basics: Sheet Music, Bundle of Love, Polka Dot Basics, Think Big Favorites #7 (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Hawaiian Shores, Pure Poppy, Stamper’s Select White (Papertrey Ink); Misc Cereal Box
Inks:  Black, Cranberry, Sky Gray (Colorbox); Versamark
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Twine (The Twinery)
Tools:   Nestabilities Square and Rectangle Dies (Spellbinders)
4 thoughts on “Make it Monday #34 – Project 2

  1. This is so fun Ally! Such a cute idea for the packages. I like the subtle look of the music. We card makers are too hard on ourselves…this looks great!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

