31 Days of Card Making {Day 2} – Autumn Simplicity

I’ve mentioned that Autumn is my favorite season.  It just comforts me and speaks peace to me, for various reasons.  And though yellow and orange are not quite my favorite colors to work with, I was thrilled to see the inspiration photo for the CR84FN #39 color challenge:

Isn’t that so beautiful and fun!!  Especially for an Autumn lover like me.

I wanted to use these colors to create a really simple card for the Make It Monday #34 challenge, for thick chipboard accents.  I envisioned for this card a simple frame on a wall, framing out a simple flower.

It seems to appear more like a frame when viewed from angles other than straight on from the front.  But hopefully it vaguely resembles that.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I used some dry brushing to outline the card, as well as to give a bit of a distressed feel to the frame.  I also used the rock & roll technique for the flower, with yellow and orange inks.  I learned those two techniques from other Make It Monday challenges, which makes me happy, knowing that I have learned something that I can add to my ‘arsenal’ and use confidently going forward.  I love to learn, and it makes me feel like I am able to still improve myself somehow, even though my main focus right now is on helping my children to learn and improve.

As a funny side note, my husband was collapsing an empty cracker box when he asked if I keep them for any reason.  I laughed (in light of this week’s Make It Monday challenge!) and told him YES!  He amusingly asked for what, and so I proudly grabbed my three homemade-chipboard cards to illustrate, informing him that the elements had been created using old, empty, collapsed cereal boxes.  Being every bit the boy who grew up on a farm who is now an accountant and likes to do things as cheaply frugally as possible, he nodded in obvious approval and complimented me on the cards.  It was definitely one of life’s sweeter moments – haha! ;-D

Thanks for stopping by today.
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Botanical Silhouettes, Daydreamer (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White Cardstock, Dark Chocolate Cardstock (Papertrey Ink); Misc Cereal Box
Inks:  Chestnut, Parchment, Mango Tango (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections, from Michaels)
Tools:   Lacey Squares Die, Classic Squares Die (Nestabilities)
4 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 2} – Autumn Simplicity

  1. A beautiful clean and simple card! I do like the frame around the flower and the sweet sentiment. Thanks for playing along with CR84FN!

  2. This is beautiful Ally! Love the sweet frame. Don't you love it when our husbands give us a pat on the back for our little pieces of art!!!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

