31 Days of Card Making {Day 4} – Macho, Macho Man

Ok, so I’m already struggling with titles for my 31 Days posts – I admit it!!

After missing last month entirely, I’m attempting to get back into the Viva La Verve challenges this month.  Here is the sketch for Week 1 of October, by Amber Hight:

I told myself I wanted to use at least one of the sketches each month to create a more masculine card, and when I went to get started on this sketch, masculine is what came out.  I think maybe it was because I used the colors for this week’s Play Date Cafe #101 challenge:

These colors are soooo me!  Aren’t they FABULOUS??!  So deep and rich, and the books and alphabet and the pen and writing paper…. forget about it!!  I wanted to use all these fabulous elements, but it just didn’t come out of me.  Sometimes I wonder if it’s just because of my lack of Verve stamps.  I have a limited supply of them, so I often feel like my options are limited, especially when coupled with my lack of knowledge for achieving the results I see in my head and making them a reality.

Well, on to the card.  Here is my creation:

What do you think?  Does this come across as a masculine card?


Click on photo to enlarge for details



I used my new graph paper stamp from the Making A Statement set to create the embossed graphing on the wine cardstock.  Not quite the card in my head that I wanted to create – far from it, actually!  But I like it, still.  I often struggle quite a bit with masculine cards, so it’s good for me to practice.
Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Big Wish, Making A Statement, Seeing Stars (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Fine Linen (Papertrey Ink); Misc Stash Cardstocks
Inks:  Bronze, Chestnut (Colorbox); Versamark
Embellishments:  Rustic Brown Twine (Misc)
Tools:   Twinkle Star Squeeze Punches (Fiskars)
6 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 4} – Macho, Macho Man

  1. Definatley masculine Ally! Great job on the sketch and the colors! Your layered stars are fun and the twine adds good texture. I struggle with the masculine cards too, I think it's the darker colors for me…not sure though 🙂

  2. I think this is a perfect masculine card, it really stood out in the gallery for me, I love cards with stars, this is fab!! Thanks so much for playing along with us at The Play Date Cafe this week!

  3. I love your card. The colors are awesome together. I personally find it extremely difficult to create a masculine card. I think you totally nailed it.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

