31 Days of Card Making {Day 5} – Nicest Thoughts

I like to play along with a few sketch and technique challenges because I feel like design and layouts are a couple of my weakest abilities in card making, and I like to stretch myself to grow in those areas.  Honestly, I’m not sure I actually AM improving!  Even with the sketch set right in front of my face, I still have a difficult time bringing all the layout elements together to form a cohesive whole.
Anyway.  I had trouble keeping up with challenges last month, being much occupied with our plans and schedules around the home.  I figured I’d better jump right in this month, though, if I expect to keep enough fodder coming for this 31 Days Challenge! 😉
I used the Mojo Monday #209 sketch for this card, with colors I selected myself.
And here is the result.

It is a bit difficult to tell, but on the aqua flower, I actually stamped the top two layers with stamps from Verve’s Sunny Days set.  I made the mistake of using Versamark on DP and trying to emboss it.  It just didn’t work out very well.  But I added some stickles to give it a little sparkle, and I really like how it turned out.

I had a lot of fun working with mainly designer papers/cardstocks.  I had heard that you’re not really supposed to stamp over ‘busy’ backgrounds, but I thought it would be fun to stamp onto the text portion.  I hope it’s not too weird. 😉

Also, I frayed the ribbon just a bit to match the distressing of the rest of the card.  I really like these colors together.


Click on photo to enlarge for details.



As usual, I had an interesting time trying to pull everything together, but I’m pretty satisfied with the results.
Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Nicest Thoughts Plain Jane, Sunny Days (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Vintage Cream Cardstock (PTI); Designer Papers – Luxury Stack and Be Mine Stack (DCWV)
Inks:  Bronze, Chestnut (Colorbox); Versamark; White (Martha Stewart Crafts)
Embellishments:  Satin Ribbon (Offray); Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Stickles (Ranger); Glitter Brad (American Crafts); Sewing Machine Stitching
Tools:   Classic Circles Die (Nestabilities); Leaf Branches Die (Sizzix); Layered Arches Border Punch (Martha Stewart Crafts)
6 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 5} – Nicest Thoughts

  1. Miss Ally you are too hard on yourself…this is PRETTY!!! Love the distressed edges and the tiny touches of pink. Wonderful work on this card 🙂

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

