31 Days of Card Making {Day 6} – Welcome, Little One!

At Nichole Heady’s Papertrey Ink blog, the current Make It Monday challenge is about making custom stamped washi tape.  And I was like,…. what?!  Washi what??  I had no idea what washi tape was, and my first inclination was to sit out this challenge.

But I googled ‘what is washi tape?’, because I wanted to know what it was I would be trying to create.  But I’m still not sure I know what it is.  Japanese tape of some sort, I’m assuming it’s pretty thin, and some kind of paper.  Right??

Well, I decided to give it a try, after all.  I just followed Nichole Heady’s tutorial, using Terrifically Tacky Tape instead because I don’t have Scor Tape.  And I wasn’t sure if she was using regular tissue paper or not – it looked a lot thicker and of better quality to me.  I just used the regular type of tissue paper.

So, seeing how I had no idea what washi tape is and am still in doubt as to whether or not I actually know what it is, even after googling it,…. I’m just putting this one out there, hoping I got it right! LOL

I used 1″-thick Tacky Tape and covered it with white tissue paper, then stamped it with the Background Basics: Houndstooth stamp in pink ink.  I guess I should have just used the tape by itself somewhere on the card.  But I was working toward an overall design (which was not so much a freehand look) and so I placed my custom tape onto the cream cardstock section at the bottom which I also cut with the double loops border punch.

Here’s a closeup:

I used Versamark and clear embossing powder for the Mat Stack 3 polka dots.  Also, you can see in the above photo, I used an aqua polka dot designer paper and sent it through the Cuttlebug with my new Musical Flourish embossing folder.  I thought about adding some rhinestones or pearls or some kind of bling, but I seriously just love it the way it is.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I am so, so happy with this card.  In fact, if I were having a baby, this would be the card I would want someone to give to me.  I just love everything about it.  It’s simple enough, it’s pretty enough, the colors make me happy,… I like it.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Background Basics: Houndstooth, Bundle of Love, Hanging Out (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Vintage Cream (PTI); Be Mine Paper Stack (DCWV); Misc Tissue Paper
Inks:  Black, Pink (Colorbox); Versamark; Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger)
Tools:   Rounded Corner Chomper (We R Memory Keepers); Hanging Out Die, Mat Stack #3 Die (Papertrey Ink); Double Loops Border Punch (Martha Stewart Crafts); Musical Flourish Embossing Folder (Cuttlebug)
One thought on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 6} – Welcome, Little One!

  1. This is adorable Ally! And I had to giggle at your washi tape dilema! I do the same thing with blogworld abreviations! There are a few that still have me scratching my head! Sending a hug & congrats on your fab 4 at the Play Date Cafe!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

