31 Days of Card Making {Day 8} – Hello

Yesterday was our day off from lessons this week, so I set about making a few cards.  I only finished one, though. (ha!)  Even on our ‘off’ days, I still end up creating in 5-minute blocks interspersed with craziness!

Here is my creation:

The background on the Kraft cardstock is from Background Basics: Text Style, topped with a Fancy Flourish stamp.  Sometimes I’m not sure how to distribute my colors – which ones to use as main and which to use as highlights, accents, or pops of color, etc – especially where there are more bright and bold colors.

For this one, I had to cut both the blue and yellow cardstocks with both dies in order to actually see them both ways (each color above or beneath) before I could make my decision.  I guess I liked this way better!

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I utilized the challenge colors from Color Throwdown #162 and the Clean & Simple sketch #161:

This was nice, simple project to help unwind the busy week.  I like simple.  Simple is good.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Background Basics: Text Style, Fancy Flourishes, Peaceful Garden (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, Kraft, Spring Rain, Lemon Tart (Papertrey Ink)
Inks:  Brown (Stampabilities); Bronze, Chestnut, Baby Blue (Colorbox); Versamark
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft; and Recollections, from Michaels); Satin Saddle-Stitch Ribbon (Offray)
Tools:   Labels Three Die, Lacey Circle Die (Spellbinders Nestabilities); 1″ Circle Die (Cuttlebug)
3 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 8} – Hello

  1. Great work on the challenge colors and sketch Ally! Sorry your big card making plans didn't work out. But enjoy them while they're little …they grow up tooooo fast 🙂

  2. Lovely clean and simple design. You did a great job with these colors! Thanks for joining us for this week's Color Throwdown.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

